Skip to main content

Ecology & Evolutionary Biology: Data Sources

Covers general resources on ecology, evolutionary biology

Ecology

Ecology WWW: directory of hundreds of ecology web sites. 

Knowledge Network for Biocomplexity: repository of ecological datasets and documentation available for download. 

National Center for Ecological Analysis and Synthesis: research center associated with UC Santa Barbara, features publications and a repository of datasets collected as part of NCEAS-funded activities.

Nonindigenous Aquatic Species: USGS database of non-native aquatic biota, including range maps and fact sheets for each species.

Software and Statistics for Ecologists: directory of online resources related to ecological statistics

Resources...

ARC Coral Reef Studies.
Australian Research Centre of Excellence, Coral Reef Studies.

Coral Reef Conservation Program
Search coral datasets and publications from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA).

Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority
see the list of online publications, workshop series, research publication series.

Moorea Coral Reef Long-Term Ecological Research Site (MCR LTER)
This site is the complex of coral reefs and lagoons that surround the island of Moorea, French Polynesia.

Planetary Coral Reef Foundation (PCRF)
A project of the Biosphere Foundation. PCRF started in 1991, has pursued a global mission to preserve coral reefs through science, education and technology.

Richard B. Gump, South Pacific Research Station, Moorea, French Polynesia
International scientists and students carry out programs at the University of California Berkeley's Richard B. Gump South Pacific Research Station. The focus of the Gump Station is field-based scientific research and advanced training, activities in all academic disciplines are welcome. Research spans levels of biocultural organization, from genetics and molecular biology, through organismal and population biology, to anthropology, economics, and the social science.

SIDS -Small Island Developing States
The SIDS Action Platform has been developed to support the follow up to the Third International Conference on Small Island Developing States (SIDS Conference), including through a partnerships platform, a partnerships framework, and a UN Implementation Matrix.  See United Nations, Sustainable Development Knowledge Platform.

Scripps Institute of Oceanography
A department of UC San Diego, Scripps Institution of Oceanography is a center for ocean, earth and atmospheric science research, education, and public service in the world. Research encompasses physical, chemical, biological, geological, and geophysical studies of the oceans, Earth, and planets.

U.S. Coral Reef Task Force
The United States is one of many nations around the world working to halt the coral reef crisis and protect, restore, and sustainably use coral reef ecosystems. The United States Coral Reef Task Force (USCRTF), started in 1998, was established by Presidential Executive Order 13089 to lead U.S. efforts to preserve and protect coral reef ecosystems.
 

eResources: Conservation & Endangered Species

Animal Info & Endangered Species
Accounts of present and historical conservation status of rare and endangered mammal species. 

Conservation Commons
search Conservation Common’s partner organizations to locate and access conservation-related publications.

Conservation Databases
UNEP World Conservation Monitoring Centre; includes species, protected areas, national biodiversity profiles.

Endangered Species Bulletin
US Fish and Wildlife Service, updates on endangered species news. issues available in PDFs.

Google Earth | Google Earth Help  get the app to use

IUCN Red List: International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources
maintains the Red List, which summarizes the conservation status of threatened and endangered species worldwide.

NatureServe Explorer
information on plants, animals, and ecosystems of the United States and Canada, coverage for rare and endangered species.

NOAA Habitat Conservation
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration site on protection and restoration efforts for coastal, marine, and riverine habitats.

Special Status Species
CERES (California Environmental Resources Evaluation System) portal to state and federal government information on special status species. 

US Fish & Wildlife Service Endangered Species Program
Endangered Species Act species information, laws and polices, and procedural information.

data

  • re3data.org
    a registry that identifies and locates online repositories of research data. Over 1,000 data repositories have been cataloged in re3data.org.
  • Dryad
    an international repository of data underlying peer-reviewed articles in the basic and applied biosciences. Dryad enables scientists to validate published findings, explore new analysis methodologies, repurpose data for research questions unanticipated by the original authors, and perform synthetic studies. Dryad is governed by a consortium of journals that collaboratively promote data archiving and ensure the sustainability of the repository.
  • DataONE
    comprises a distributed network of data centers, science networks and organizations.
  • Ecological Data Wiki A central source for identifying reusable datasets that are useful to the study of ecology. "The idea is to use the collaborative knowledge and effort of the entire ecological community to compile this information rather than relying on each scientist to contribute information for their own studies. Just think of it as the Wikipedia of ecology data."
  • ENVIROnetBASE: Environmental Science Collection
    Research on pollution reduction, emissions, and environmental contamination, providing full-text access to references on methods for site assessment, remediation, and soil and water quality monitoring.
Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.