Skip to main content

PH 270B: Toxicology I: Organize Your Citations

Citation Managers

You have many options when it comes to selecting a program to manage your citations. The tabs across the top will provide more information on specific citation managers.
All citation management programs let you:

  • Add citations from databases like PubMed, Web of Science, etc.
  • Organize your citations into folders or groups
  • Add PDF files of articles to the references
  • Format citations in Microsoft Word (and other document programs) to create bibliographies in any of 1000s of styles
  • Share all or part of your database, with various degrees of permissions

Comparison of reference management software (Wikipedia): Comparisons of over 20 commercial, free, and open-source, desktop-based and web-based tools. Includes charts on how they stack up on integration with word processors, supported platforms, import and export capabilities, citation styles, and more.


Check the Library Workshop Calendar for these upcoming classes:

  • Mendeley Citation Management
  • Zotero: Beginning and Intermediate Steps
  • EndNote for Macs
  • RefWorks: Citation Management 
  • EndNote Essentials: A Hands On Citation Management Workshop: Part 1
  • EndNote Part 2: A Hands On Citation Management Workshop

EndNote

EndNote is a client-based program, which means the software resides on your computer and is not accessible via the Internet. EndNote features include:

  • The most comprehensive array of citation output styles
  • Client software installed on your computer (can sync with a limited web-based version)
  • Linking EndNote records to PDFs and other types of documents saved on your hard drive
  • Can add figures and tables to your EndNote library
  • Use UC-eLinks to find the full text of the article from within EndNote
  • EndNote software must be purchased and installed onto your computer
  • Can share your EndNote library with others

EndNote KnowledgebaseFAQs, and the Tutorials Library are the best places to start when you are learning EndNote or have problems.

For a comparison of the differences among the current EndNote version and earlier versions, see their comparison chart.

EndNote Basic, a free web-based version, limits the number of citations you can store, has a limited number of citation styles, and a limited number databases that it's compatible with. Purchasers of EndNote Desktop also get access to the full EndNote Online.
UC students, staff, and faculty can purchase EndNote at a substantial discount.

RefWorks

RefWorks is cloud-based and allows for easy collaboration. Access to RefWorks is provided by the UCB Library to UCB students, staff, and faculty.

  • New RefWorks works with Google Docs (in addition to Word)
  • Cloud-based
  • Full-text access to most articles is easy: UC-eLinks works inside RefWorks
  • Good for collaborative projects: share a citation database
  • Easy to learn and use
  • Offers about 3000 output styles (EndNote offers more than 5000)
  • To use RefWorks, you first must register as a new user. Once you are registered, log in at any computer with Internet access.
  • To use RefWorks from off-campus, log using the Proxy Server or VPN, or you can log in with the UC Berkeley Group Code (Requires CalNet ID authentication).
  • To use RefWorks with the proxy server, you must first visit a non-https website, such as oed.com; then you can log on to RefWorks.
  • Pop-ups must be allowed for RefWorks to function correctly. Make sure your browser allows pop-ups, and your Java is up to date.

Need more help? See RefWorks help guide and tutorials.

Zotero

Zotero, an open source (free) program, was first developed as a Firefox extension, but now also has Chrome and Safari plug-ins, as well as a stand-alone application. Features include:

  • Can sync your Zotero database between computers and may share citations within a work group.
  • Manages citations found online through the browser
  • Automatically capture citation information from web pages
  • Store PDFs, files, images, links, and whole web pages for easy retrieval
  • Zotero (Browser version) is bound to the installation of Firefox on your computer, but you can install it on a portable version of Firefox on a USB drive to allow for traveling with your Zotero library
  • Has both a cloud-based version and stand-alone software version that you can install on your computer
  • Works with LibreOffice (in addition to Word)
  • Zotero has a relatively fewer citation output formats compared to RefWorks or EndNote

Need more help? See the Zotero support site.

Mendeley

Mendeley is a free citation manager and academic social network with web-based, desktop, and mobile versions. Works with Microsoft Word, LibreOffice, and BibTeX.

  • Introduces social networking tools to collaborate with fellow researchers, including sharing lists of references and collaborative tagging of documents
  • Add PDFs to your citation library
  • Annotate PDFs
  • Search within the text of all of your PDFs
  • Sync your library across multiple devices
  • With a free account you get 2GB of web space and can create 1 private group with up to 3 members. You can upgrade to a premium plan if you need more space or groups. 

Mendeley Overview: the basics of downloading and using Mendeley. And for more help, see their help guides.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.