Skip to main content

IAS 150 Development and the Environment: Introduction

Campus Library Map

Select the image below to see the full campus library map.

Campus map of UCB Libraries

See also:

Connecting from Off Campus

You can access UCB Library resources from off campus using one of two simple methods:

Proxy Server
After you make a one-time change in your web browser settings, the proxy server will ask you to log in with a CalNet ID or Library PIN when you click on the link to a licensed resource. See the setup instructions, FAQ, and Troubleshooting pages to configure your browser.

VPN (Virtual Private Network)
After you install and run the VPN "client" software on your computer, you can log in with a CalNet ID to establish a secure connection with the campus network.

Key Sources

Start Your Search.    Books, ebooks, journal articles, JSTOR, and other content rolled into one integrated library platform.  Does not include content from many business databases, numeric data, and content from Proquest.

Google Scholar. Functions as both a key word database for articles and books. It automatically connects to select licensed content held by the UC libraries.

Oskicat. UC Berkeley libraries catalog. Includes records for most UCB library materials, including books, e-books, journal and e-journal titles, films and videos, maps, archival materials, and much more. See also the Quick Guide to Oskicat and Oskicat Tutorial.

Google Books. Search the text of books, view previews still in copyright, and read full text of out-of-copyright books. To find a copyrighted book, use the "find in a Library" link to locate the book at UC Berkeley.

Eldis.  Materials on development, policy, practice and research.  Thousands of full text documents free to download as well as resource guides and country profiles. 

JSTOR. Includes over 1000 scholarly journals with access to more than 2 million articles. JSTOR is an archive which means that current issues (generally the most recent 3-5 years) of the journals are not yet available.

Dissertations and Theses (Dissertation Abstracts). Index and full text of graduate dissertations and theses from North American and European schools and universities, including the University of California.

Citation Management

Citation management tools help you manage your research, collect and cite sources, and create bibliographies in a variety of citation styles.  Each one has its strengths and weaknesses, but any are easier than doing it by hand!

  1. Zotero: A free plug-in that works exclusively with the Firefox browser: keeps copies of what you find on the web, permits tagging, notation, full text searching of your library of resources, works with Word, and has a free web backup service.
  2. RefWorks - free for UC Berkeley users. It allows you to create your own database by importing references and using them for footnotes and bibliographies. Use the RefWorks New User Form to sign up.
  3. EndNote: may be purchased from UC Berkeley's Software Central.

It's always good to double check the formatting -- sometimes the software doesn't get it quite right.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.