Skip to main content

IAS 150 Development and the Environment: Statistics & Data

Environmental Data

Center for International Earth Science Information Network (CIESIN). Provides data and other information on the changing relationship between human beings and the environment. See especially the Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center

Centre for PRTR Data.  Includes PRTR (Pollutant Release and Transfer Registers; USA version is the Toxic Release Inventory data from selected OECD countries.

Energy and Carbon Emissions Inventories Database.  Database designed to display the energy use, carbon emissions, and resulting energy and carbon intensities of the world and of the top 27 carbon-emitting nations, or 80% of global emissions.  From 1970 to present, annual data.  From the International Institute of Applied Systems Analysis.

Environmental Data Explorer (United Nations Environment Programme Data portal). Portal to a wealth of international and regional data on many aspects of the environment including agriculture, air quality, biodiversity, coral reefs, ecosystems, endangered and threatened species, emissions, erosion, forests, human settlements, land use, ozone, pesticides, and weather.

Gemstar Global Water Database. Surface and ground water quality data sets collected from the GEMS/Water Global Network, including more than 3,000 stations, close to four million records, and over 100 parameters.

FluxNet.  Long term measurements of energy, water vapor, carbon dioxide, and energy from a variety of global ecosystms. 

Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) Socio-economic Centre. Data related to population, economic development, technology and natural resources for use in climate impact assessments.

International Energy Agency. Detailed international data on coal, electricity, natural gas,oil, renewables, carbon dioxide emissions from fuel combustion, energy prices and taxes, energy technology research and development,world energy statistics and balances, and forecasts from energy policies. 

Primary, Final and Useful Energy Database (PFUDB).  Historical database of energy use by country or region, energy level, sector, energy carrier, and end-use type for 20 countries, for the 20th century.

World Bank Climate Change Data. Large collection of climate change data from the world bank, from forest areas to CO2 emissions to urban populations.

World Bank. Data and Statistics. Environment. Various international, regional, and country data on various aspects of the environment.

World Resources Institute. Flagship publication is World Resources Report which provides an overview of environmental trends. Includes many data tables. Also includes datasets.

Development Data

Africa Development Indicators.  From the World Bank. Data on Africa, containing over 1,600 indicators, covering 53 African countries from 1961 to present.

AID Data. Microlevel aid data from around the world, articles on aid data from peer reviewed journals, and "aid data raw" which allows researchers to subset data by donor, recipient, and purpose for multiple years.  

Devinfo. Database system endorsed by the United Nations Development Group to facilitate data sharing acrosss multiple UN agencies and countries: child protection, gender, migration, housing, censuses, and multiple countries around the world.  

FAOSTAT. Extensive data on agriculture, food supply, food security, prices, commodities, forest products, and fisheries from the FAO.

International Debt Statistics. Statistical data for countries reporting public debt to the World Bank. Includes external debt stocks and flows and key debt ratios as well as long-term debt, debt restructuring, and debt service projections. 

International Food Policy Research Instute (IFPRI). Data on a variety of agricultural and resource topcs, including  hunger and poverty, social capital, livestock and more.  Also on the datavserse network.

Human Development Report Statistics. Statistics from the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP). Links to the text of national human development reports from over 250 countries and regions.

OECD iLibrary. Leading International Organization for Foreign Aid data. Includes International Development Statistics as well as statistical databases on External Debt Statistics and Geographical Distribution of Financial Aid Flows to Developing Countries. 

UNCTADStat. From the United Nations Conference on Trade & Development. See also theWorld Investment Directory, which offers FDI data by country.

UN Data. Wide range of economic, social, cultural, and demographic indicators: population, environment, health, economics, technology, trade, refugees, and more.

U.S. Overseas Loans and Grants (Green Book). Loans and grants from the US government each fiscal year by purpose and country.

World Development Indicators. Time series data from 1960 for 207 countries in the areas of population, labour, education, economics, the environment and much more.

World Income Inequality Database. Information for countries on income inequalities at both cross-country and time series levels over the period 1950-98, with a focus on the period since 1980. See also the University of Texas Income Inequality Project. 

World's Top Income Database.  Top income share time series over the long-run for more than twenty countries to date, primarily from countries in Europe, North America and Developed Asia.    

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.