Skip to main content

UC Berkeley History: Basic Sources: Campus Publications

An introduction to the Library's collections relating to the history of UC Berkeley

Catalog, Schedule of Classes, Yearbook, Directory of Students

Daily Californian newspaper (microfilm)

The Daily Californian newspaper is in microfilm in the Newspapers and Microforms Room (in the Newsfilm 1 section). It was established in 1871 (see below) and became independent from the University in 1971.  

"The Daily Californian has its roots in The College Echo, published by the Durant Rhetorical Society at the College of California before the founding of the University of California. The society continued the publication after the formation of the university and the move to the Berkeley campus site as The University Echo. The Neolaean Literary Society began the Neolaean Review in March 1873, and the two publications merged in January 1874 as The Berkeleyan. There was a gap in the publication from 1888 thorough 1892; a new series of The Berkeleyan was begun in 1893 The named was changed to The Californian in 1897, and in October of that same year it became the Daily Californian."  (Source)

Use an index to locate the dates and page numbers of relevant articles.  The Daily Californian indexes are available as follows:

1874 - 1929 on microfilm in the Newspaper/Micro Room under call no.: MICROFILM 20031 (3 reels).  The original of the index is a card file in Bancroft’s University Archives.  

 1930 - June 1991  is indexed in a card file located in Newspaper/Micro Room.

 July 1991 - June 1994 is available via the Online Archive of California.   The print version is also available.  

 September 1997 - current is searchable through the  Lexis/Nexis Academic database.  Detailed searching instructions.

See also the Daily Cal website for current issues.  Daily Californian is planning to digitize back issues.  

See the Library's more detailed guide to the Daily Californian.

Dissertations and Theses

The majority of dissertations in the UC Berkeley Libraries are from UC Berkeley. The libraries have a nearly complete collection of Berkeley doctoral dissertations and a large number of Berkeley masters' theses.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.