Skip to main content

UC Berkeley History: Basic Sources: Finding More

An introduction to the Library's collections relating to the history of UC Berkeley

Researching UC Berkeley History

Search OskiCat, the UCB Library catalog, for all library materials except articles.  Sample keywords:

student activis* berkeley
loyalty oath* berkeley
school of criminology berkeley
"greek letter societies" berkeley
lawrence berkeley laboratory
"nobel prize*" berkeley
strawberry creek
berkeley

* = truncation/wildcard (child * = retrieves child, childs children childish childhood...)

quotes keep words together as a phrase

To find scholarly articles, find the article database that covers the appropriate discipline (pull down the "all subjects" menu to history, education, etc.), for example:

To find newspaper articles, find the appropriate newspaper database.  For the Daily Californian, see "Campus Publications" tab. Examples of newspaper databases:

University Archives

"The University Archives documents the history of the University of California, particularly the Office of the President and the Berkeley campus.

"Collections include official records, reports, publications, correspondence, digital files, maps, photographs, audiovisual materials, oral histories, memorabilia, and the papers of Berkeley faculty."

Search OskiCat or the Online Archive of California.  Items listed at the location "UC Archives" can be requested at The Bancroft Library.  Items marked Bancroft(NRLF) or UC Archives (NRLF) are in off-site storage and MUST be requested in advance.  

Ask a Librarian 24/7 Chat

You can type your question directly into this chat window to chat with a librarian. Your question may be answered by a reference librarian from Berkeley, from another UC campus, or another academic library elsewhere in the world.  We share information about our libraries to make sure you get good answers.

If the librarian can't answer you well enough, your question will be referred to a Berkeley librarian for follow-up.

Have fun chatting!

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.