Skip to main content

Using Aeon to Request Special Collections Materials: Bancroft Library Conditions of Use

This guide provides an introduction to Aeon, the special collections registration and requesting tool.

Conditions of Use

Using The Bancroft Library and Its Collections

The Bancroft Library welcomes researchers from the Berkeley campus, nationally, and from around the world.  We are a non-circulating library, so all materials must be consulted in the Heller Reading Room. Bancroft materials are unique or rare, and some are in fragile condition.  Researchers must handle all materials with care, to avoid loss or damage, and by following these conditions of use, which are designed to protect Bancroft collections while providing the best possible access to our researchers.  The Aeon online registration form constitutes an agreement by the researcher to comply with the Library's stated policies for use of its materials.

Bancroft Library researchers must be at least 18 years old, or have graduated from high school, or be accompanied by an adult.  Current government, UC Berkeley, or other academic photo identification and registration in Aeon are required to enter the Reading Room.  The Bancroft Library is under camera surveillance.

Bancroft staff are available to answer questions about our procedures and to otherwise assist researchers.  For further information, please contact us.

General Rules

  1. The Reading Room is reserved for the active use of Bancroft materials only.
  2.  No ink may be used in the Reading Room.  Pencils are available in the Reading Room.  Laptop computers, tablets, and phones (turned to silent mode) may be used.
  3. Containers are not permitted in the Reading Room.  All folders, binders, envelopes, boxes, cases, bags/purses, and other containers must be stored in the lockers.  Wallets are permitted if they do not exceed 5 x 4 inches.
  4. Personal belongings, including coats, bags/purses, and umbrellas must be stored in the lockers operated by a refundable quarter.  Property passes for research materials carried into the Reading Room are available at the Security Desk; please ask Security staff.
  5. Researchers may bring one notebook or one pad of paper (all without loose sheets or pockets) in addition to up to five (5) sheets of loose paper.
  6. Eating, drinking, chewing gum, smoking, and cell phone conversations are prohibited.
  7. When the Reading Room reaches capacity a waitlist will be enacted.  Your seat may be forfeited if you leave the Reading Room for 30 minutes or more and the Reading Room reaches capacity in your absence.
  8. Researchers are expected to abide by the Library Code of Conduct.
  9.  All personal items brought into the Reading Room must be submitted for inspection at the Registration Desk and Security Desk upon departure.  This includes opening laptop computers.

Using the Reading Room

  1. The Registration Desk will issue researchers a Daily Reader Card during the sign- in process.  Print your name on the card and present it to the Circulation Desk to obtain your requested material.  The card will be checked at the Registration Desk each time you re-enter the Reading Room. At the end of the day, the Registration Desk will collect the card.

  2.  All Bancroft materials must remain on the surface of your table.  Reading Room staff will provide book cradles, book weights (“snakes”) to hold pages open, and/or gloves, when appropriate.  When in doubt about proper handling, please consult Reading Room staff. We are happy to help.
  3. Leave materials “as-is”:  Do not make any marks in/on Bancroft materials.  Likewise, do not remove annotations, fasteners, or flags found in Bancroft materials.
  4. Archival and other loose materials require special care.  Be sure to maintain their arrangement. Please alert Reference Desk staff if you suspect irregularities in arrangement or preservation issues.
  5. Only one folder from a box of archival materials may be removed at one time.  Place the Out Card at the location from which you removed the folder. All material must remain within the folder at all times.
  6. Do not place notebooks, pencils, books, or other objects on books or archival folders.  Never lean on Bancroft materials.
  7. Paging ends 30 minutes before the Reading Room closes and all material must be returned to the Circulation Desk 15 minutes before closing time.

Using Cameras

  1. All photographs must be for personal research use only.  Photographs taken in the Reading Room may not be published, posted online, donated or sold to another repository, or exhibited.  Researchers interested in acquiring high-resolution, publishable images and permission to publish those images can learn more about the options on our Duplication & Permission LibGuide.
  2. Researchers are responsible for complying with all intellectual property laws.  You agree to indemnify and hold harmless The Bancroft Library, its agents, and employees, against all claims, demands, costs, and expenses incurred by copyright infringement or any other legal or regulatory cause of action arising from the use of these photographs.
  3. Hand-held cameras, cell phones, and tablets may be used.  No scanners, laptop cameras, or ancillary devices may be used; including tripods, video cameras, camera bags, flash functionality or lights, copy stands, audio components, stools.
  4. Handle all materials with care.  Material must remain on the table or appropriate book cradles.  Reading Room staff may assist in positioning the item so that it is fully supported.  Furniture may not be rearranged. Patrons may not stand on chairs or tables. Bancroft staff reserves the right to advise proper use of materials at any time.
  5. Archival materials must be photographed in their folder, keeping their order intact.  Multiple sheets may not be removed to photograph in a single shot.
  6. Books cannot be laid flat, opened more than their spines will easily allow, or pushed down to flatten them.
  7. Material may not be folded or removed from sleeves or mats.  Staff can assist when fasteners must be removed.
  8. Only photograph collection items.  Do not photograph Library staff, the Reading Room, or other researchers.  Take care not to disturb others.
  9. Include a completed citation flag in the frame of each photograph.

Using Online Collections

The Bancroft Library is committed to making our digital collections available for private study, scholarship, teaching, and research.

Some materials in Bancroft collections may be protected by the U.S. Copyright Law (Title 17, U.S.C.) and/or restricted by terms of University of California gift or purchase agreements, donor restrictions, privacy and publicity rights, licensing, and trademarks. Transmission or reproduction of materials protected by copyright beyond that allowed by fair use requires the written permission of the copyright owners. Works not in the public domain cannot be commercially exploited without permission of the copyright owner. Responsibility for any use rests exclusively with the user.

The Library retains high resolution digital files for most online collections. For information about obtaining reproductions of Bancroft materials and/or commercial use or publication of our collection materials, please visit our Duplication and Permission Services LibGuide for further information.

We are dedicated to protecting the rights of creators and copyright holders, and are always interested in learning more about the materials in Bancroft collections. If you have specific information about collections posted by The Bancroft Library, please contact us at bancref@library.berkeley.edu.

Aeon Help

Help! Who do I contact if I have a question about Aeon?

 

Please send an email to banc-aeon@berkeley.edu. Please note that emails sent to this address can only be answered during normal Library business hours, Monday-Friday between 10:00am - 5:00pm. 

Print or Download This Page as a PDF

To print this page or download as a PDF, please click the "Print Page" link at the bottom of this page.

 

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.