Skip to main content

Cookbooks - Bioscience & Natural Resources Library: Books, eBooks

cookbooks collection guide

Books, articles & more

Start Your Search [UC Berkeley Discovery Tool] Guide to Start Your Search: What's Included.

Oskicat [UC Berkeley]

  • Search for books, e-books, journals, dissertations, reports, materials by topic, author or series.
  • Renew your books
  • Find course reserves
  • Request items from other libraries, from storage, or checked out by other patrons
  • Refine your search to a specific library, available items or online items.

Melvyl  [UC, selected UCB libraries not in Oskicat]

  • Search for articles,books, ebooks, journals, dissertations from UCB-subscribed journals
  • Search libraries worldwide
  • Request items UCB does not own, create and save lists, automatically format citations.

Google Scholar

  • Lists articles, books, preprints, and reports. Specialized databases cover more completely.
  • Can be used with UC-eLinks to access the full text of many articles; click on "Scholar Preferences", search Library Links for "Berkeley", and choose "University of California Berkeley - UC-eLinks."
  • Some listings also include links to related articles and to other sources that cite the item.

Google Books

  • Search the full text of books Google has scanned
  • Read the full text of most out-of-copyright books
  • View previews or snippets from many books still in copyright
  • Find in a library link will locate the book if it is owned by UC Berkeley

Start your search

Start your search here to find books, articles, and more.

 

Sample searches

OskiCat: enter keywords:  cooking American
use truncation / wildcard for variant word endings: example:  cook* =cookery, cooking, cookbook(S)
subject searches: 
    barbecuing
     cooking, American - western style
     cooking west
     cookbooks - west
     fireplace cooking
     food habits - california
     food habits - history
     food - history
     gastronomy
     outdoor cooking
     Cooking western

broaden and narrow your searches: keywords: Outdoor cooking california
advanced search cookery chinese language: english
year of publication: after 1945 before 1990

Search the name of a person or organization, as an author or topic:
author: Waters, Alice
author: united states food and drug administration

Try these OskiCat features:

  • limit your search to a type of material (DVDs) or a library location (BIOS)
  • save items to a list you can e-mail/download/print
  • Use Request to recall or page a book
  • Use Request for items from storage (NRLF)
  • view a list of items you have checked out
  • send call numbers to your cell phone
  • receive alerts of new items that match your search terms ("preferred search")

Sample searches & special collections

OskiCat:
Limit to location: Bioscience and Natural Resources Library
use Keywords:
Cookery
Holl gastronomy (for materials in the Holl Gastronomy Collection)
 

Use subject headings:
Cookbooks -- Early works to 1800
Cooking -- Early works to 1800

search for keyword food / location bioscience library
Food and the city: urban agriculture and the new food

Advanced search: enter subject: food and subject tourism

eBook Collections

Nutrition Care Manual
Published by the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, the NCM is the preeminent source of research-based nutrition information and clinical tools available to dietitians, dietetic technicians and other health care professionals.
Feeding America: The Historic American Cookbook Project  
"... an online collection of some of the most important and influential American cookbooks from the late 18th to early 20th century" from Michigan State University.
FOODnetBASE
Full-text books on food safety, quality assurance, processing, brewing, regulations, and microbiology, in addition to the latest functional foods, antioxidants, foodborne pathogens, and packaging technologies.

Dissertations & Theses

The ProQuest Dissertations and Theses database indexes graduate dissertations from over a thousand graduate school and universities, and includes full-text access to dissertations published since 1997. The database also includes full-text dissertations from the University of California from:

  • September 1962 - December 1970 and
  • December 1975 - present

If you can't find a specific UC Berkeley dissertation on ProQuest, go to Oskicat and choose to limit your search to "Dissertations/Theses" using the dropdown on the far right of the search page:

If you're not on campus, and you are not a UC Berkeley student, faculty or staff member, you may be able to access UC Berkeley dissertations for a fee from ProQuest's Dissertation Express or, for items in our collection, using our photoduplication services.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.