Library Guides: HIV/AIDS &amp; Other Infectious Diseases: Find Articles

Core Public Health Article Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts in the fields of biomedicine and health, as well as portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.

PubMed includes MEDLINE, PubMed Central (PMC), other biomedical and life science journals, and the NCBI Bookshelf. PubMed also provides links to other NCBI molecular biology resources, including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system.
Note: The link above goes to a specially configured version of PubMed for UC Berkeley users that will display the Get It at UC button for full text article access. To use the free public version, please click here.
Embase This link opens in a new window
International index including over 2,000 journals not in Medline, as well as conference abstracts. Broad biomedical scope with strong coverage in drug, pharmaceutical, and toxicological research, including economic evaluations and healthcare policy & management.
Indexes journals, including many not in Medline, from over 90 countries, and indexes conference abstracts from many conferences. Broad biomedical scope with strong coverage in drug, pharmaceutical, and toxicological research including economic evaluation.
Global Health This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, books, reports, and more on the topics such as environmental and occupational health, food safety and hygiene, infectious diseases, medical microbiology, nutrition, public health, toxicology, and zoonoses. NOTE: UC Berkeley's access to Global Health will end in 2024.
Limited free full text is available for some hard-to-find journal articles, conference proceedings, reports, and research articles from smaller, society and non-English publishers. Note: The header says "CABI: CAB Abstracts and Global Health"
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, reports, books, and government publications covering all areas of environmental science.
AES incorporates the formerly titled "Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management" database - which includes Environmental Impact Statements - plus the databases AGRICOLA (1970-current) and TOXLINE (1999-current).
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is the primary database for nursing and allied health including topics such as addiction, aging, alternative/complementary medicine, biomedicine, mental health, psychology, and more. NOTE: UC Berkeley's access to CINAHL will end in 2024.
CINAHL Complete includes articles, books, audiovisuals, standards of care, and more. Indexing over 5,000 journals from 1937 forward, it features PreCINAHL citations and cited references starting with 1985. Over 730 journals are available full text.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences. Allows cited reference searching.
Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present).
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences and more.
Contains over 50 million records with more than half the content originating from outside North America. Indexes over 21,000 journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences, technology, medicine, arts, and humanities.

Additional Article Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database of scholarly and general interest journals, books, and reports. [1865 - present]
Articles from broad array of peer-reviewed journals, popular and trade magazines and news sources for nearly all areas of study; available in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. [date varies]
Indexes journal articles, reviews, and bibliographies which provide evidence-based effects of health care, as well as a register of published economic evaluations of health care interventions and information on healthcare technology assessment from seven databases such as The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Controlled Trials Register, and the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness.

SHARE (Synthesized HIV/AIDS Research Evidence)
SHARE strives to include nearly every HIV-relevant systematic review. In addition to systematic reviews published in peer reviewed journals, SHARE also includes Rapid Response reviews produced by the Ontario HIV Treatment Network. Search by population, health systems, determinants of health, prevention/linkage, and more.

AIDS Conference Proceedings

Volumes of abstracts for some AIDS meetings are located in the Library. Check the library catalog for call numbers. Search using the conference name as a Keyword. Online conference abstracts may be located using the resources below.

International AIDS Society
Abstracts for the International AIDS Conference and IAS Conference on HIV Pathogenesis Treatment and Prevention.

Proceedings This link opens in a new window
An index of worldwide conference proceedings in a variety of disciplines
Indexes proceedings, the list of all papers presented, at conferences, symposia, meetings, expositions, and congresses worldwide in a variety of disciplines, including the arts, humanities, social sciences, physical and life sciences, biological and medical sciences, engineering, technology, history, general interest, and reference topics. References to individual papers will be found in the PapersFirst database.
PapersFirst This link opens in a new window
Covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre [1993 - present]
Indexes papers presented at conferences, symposia, meetings, expositions, workshops, and congresses worldwide in a variety of disciplines, including the arts, humanities, social sciences, physical and life sciences, biological and medical sciences,
Embase This link opens in a new window
Search for biomedical literature citations. Embase is a key resource for conducting systematic reviews and researching evidence-based medicine. [dates vary]
Indexes journals, including many not in Medline, from over 90 countries, and indexes conference abstracts from many conferences. Broad biomedical scope with strong coverage in drug, pharmaceutical, and toxicological research including economic evaluation.

Bioscience, Natural Resources & Public Health Library

Questions? Ask a librarian!

The Bioscience, Natural Resources & Public Health Library:

Off Campus Access to Library Resources

Off-campus access is limited to current UC Berkeley faculty, staff and students. Choose one of the following methods:

Library Proxy (aka EZproxy):
When you click on a link to an article, database, etc., from a library web page. you will be prompted to authenticate via CalNet.
If you click on an article (etc.) link found via a search engine or a non-UCB Library webpage, you should use this bookmarklet to access the licensed resource.

Virtual Private Network (VPN):
Download and install the VPN client to allow access the UC Berkeley licensed resources.
Make sure you select Library Access - Full Tunnel VPN when you log on.
VPN FAQ

Students: Problems setting up Library Proxy or VPN? Contact your librarian, or Student Technology Services: (510) 642-HELP, or sts-help@berkeley.edu.

Secondary menu

HIV/AIDS & Other Infectious Diseases: Find Articles

Core Public Health Article Databases

Additional Article Databases

AIDS Conference Proceedings

Bioscience, Natural Resources & Public Health Library

Off Campus Access to Library Resources