Skip to main content

Bio-Inspired Design: IB C32: Online Resources

Guides:

For more information go to: Natural History & Zoology; Botany

Anatomy & Physiology resources

Anatomy Atlases:
series of online human anatomy atlases, including a micro-anatomy atlas and a first aid atlas.

Anatomy of the Human Body:
online edition of Gray’s Anatomy of the Human Body, via Bartleby.com.

eSkeletons Project: contains images of human and primate bones from varying angles and animations of joint actions.

Mouse Brain Library: high-resolution images and databases of brains from genetically characterized strains of mice. 

Muscle Tutorial: review major superficial muscles with this handy tutorial.

Skeletal Muscles of the Human Body: Hosford Muscle Tables supply the origin, insertion, action, and blood and nerve supply for every muscle in the body.

Skeleton Tutorial: detailed review of skeletal structures from Gateway Community College in Phoenix, AZ.

The Virtual Body: illustrated online atlas of human anatomy.

Visible Human Project: National Library of Medicine, images of transverse sections of male and female human cadavers.

Whole Brain Atlas: atlas with images of brains both in normal and diseased states.

Paleontology - Selected Resources

The Fossil Calibration Database:
The Fossil Calibration Database is an open-access resource that curates vetted fossil calibration points. In order to be included in the database, a calibration must pass peer review and meet best practices for phylogenetic and stratigraphic justification.

Paleobiology Database.
What is the Paleobiology Database? The Paleobiology Database (PaleoBioDB) is a non-governmental, non-profit public resource for paleontological data. It has been organized and operated by a multi-disciplinary, multi-institutional, international group of paleobiological researchers. Its purpose is to provide global, collection-based occurrence and taxonomic data for organisms of all geological ages, as well data services to allow easy access to data for independent development of analytical tools, visualization software, and applications of all types. The Database’s broader goal is to encourage and enable data-driven collaborative efforts that address large-scale paleobiological questions.

Selected Resources

Conservation and Endangered Species

AmphibiaWeb:
clearinghouse about amphibian conservation and biology. Part of the Digital Library Project at UC Berkeley. 

Animal Info:
accounts of present and historical conservation status of rare and endangered mammal species. 

CITES:
Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora, contains Convention text, official documents, species lists and member countries.

Conservation Commons:
search engine for the websites of Conservation Common’s partner organizations; good way to locate and access conservation-related publications from a wide range of organizations.

Conservation Databases:
UNEP World Conservation Monitoring Centre; includes species, protected areas, national bioversity profiles.

Coral Reef Conservation Program:
search for coral datasets and publications from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA).

Endangered Species Bulletin:
US Fish and Wildlife Service, provides updates on endangered species news. Current and archived issues available in PDF format.

Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority:
list of online publications, workshop series, research publication series.

IUCN Red List:
International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources maintains the Red List which summarizes the conservation status of threatened and endangered species worldwide. 

NatureServe Explorer:
65,000+ plants, animals, and ecosystems of the United States and Canada, coverage for rare and endangered species.

NOAA Habitat Conservation:
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration site on protection and restoration efforts for coastal, marine, and riverine habitats.

ReefBase:
a global coral reef database of 25,000+ coral reef – related publications, and an interactive mapping tool.

Special Status Species:
CERES (California Environmental Resources Evaluation System) portal to state and federal government information about special status species. 

US Fish & Wildlife Service Endangered Species Program:
Endangered Species Act species information, laws and polices, and procedural information. 

Taxonomy Selected Resources

The Arbor Day Foundation - Tree Taxonomy guide

The Taxonomy Database, NCBI.
a curated classification and nomenclature for all of the organisms in the public sequence databases. This currently represents about 10% of the described species of life on the planet. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/taxonomy

Tree of Life: Taxon pages in development, most contain images, references, and taxonomic information. 

Treebase: database of trees derived from phylogenetic analyses. Search by taxon, author, citation, and more. Results include bibliographic information and phylogenetic trees pulled from the studies.

Zootaxa
founded in 2001 as a new print and online journal of systematic zoology. It was designed to help systematic zoologists to rapidly document and analyze world’s zoological diversity, which includes many undescribed species now threatened by the rapid loss of habitats. Overcoming the ‘taxonomic impediment’ by helping taxonomists to rapidly document world’s undescribed animals is Zootaxa’s main mission.

Biodiversity Tools

Animal Diversity Web:
species accounts and taxonomic data for a wide array of animal species. Higher taxa have overview entries. Maintained by University of Michigan’s Museum of Zoology

Consortium of California Herbaria:
Search to locate specimens housed in herbaria throughout the state. Specimen records are linked, where applicable, to species accounts, California range maps, and other resources.

Encyclopedia of Life:
site serves as an online reference source and database for 1.8 million species named and known on this planet. Species accounts include images, taxonomic data, life history, distribution, ecology, and references.

ePIC, Electronic Plant Information Centre (Kew):
search Kew Royal Botanical Gardens’ checklists, databases, bibliographies, and publications. Particularly useful for taxonomic queries: search the International Plant Names Index and checklists.

FishBase:
Information about ecology, life history, distribution, fish species around the globe. Includes create lists of fish species by country.

Global Biodiversity Information Facility:
Portal to biodiversity datasets. Data accessed by species, country, or dataset. 

Hawaii Biological Survey:
Hawaii Biological Survey, checklists of fauna and flora, catalogs of museum specimens, and technical reports of the Bishop Museum.

Index to Organism Names.
OIN contains the organism names related data gathered from the scientific literature for Thomson Reuters' Zoological Record® database. Viruses, bacteria and plant names will be added from other Thomson Reuters databases such as BIOSIS Previews®.

Integrated Taxonomic Information System:
“authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world” 

Mammal Species of the World:
Taxonomy based on Wilson & Reeder's Mammal Species of the World. A Taxonomic and Geographic Reference.

Mammalian Species
Taxonomic information about mammals, plus the American Society of Mammalogists’ Mammalian Species accounts.

NatureServe Explorer:
information on 65,000+ plants, animals, and ecosystems of the United States and Canada. 

Nomenclator Zoologicus:
names and bibliographic origins of the genera and subgenera in zoology from the tenth edition of Linnaeus 1758 to the end of 2004.

People, Biodiversity and Ecology:
access to publications from UNESCO programs on international biodiversity issues. 

Regional Species Lists, Molluscs:
Conchological Society of America, directory of regional checklists and species accounts of mollusks around the world.

Tree of Life: Taxon pages in development, most contain images, references, and taxonomic information. 

Treebase: database of trees derived from phylogenetic analyses. Search by taxon, author, citation, and more. Results include bibliographic information and phylogenetic trees pulled from the studies.

UC Museum of Paleontology- History of Life Through Time:
tree of life by clicking on taxa of interest for evolutionary history. Articles have references and links for further information.

Virus Taxonomy Online:
taxonomic information and genus/species accounts of viruses; maintained by the International Committee on Taxonomy of Viruses. 

World List of Marine, Freshwater & Terrestrial Crustacea Isopoda:
Smithsonian Museum of Natural History site, features taxonomic database of isopod species and bibliography of species descriptions.

Zoological Record Taxonomic Hierarchy:
Taxonomic data and references for species descriptions for animal, plant, and virus taxa found within BIOSIS and ZooRecord.

Zoonomen: Zoological Nomenclature Resource:
Continually updated nomenclature and species descriptions for birds.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.