Skip to main content
What is Start your search?
Start your Search includes books, articles and more.
- Books and eBooks from:
- OskiCat, the UC Berkeley library catalog
- Dozens of eBook databases
- Articles from journals, magazines and newspapers, including article content from:
- Online encyclopedias and dictionaries from a variety of vendors such as:
- Oxford University Press
Start your search is powered by EBSCO Discovery Services and combines a variety of library collections, catalogs and databases into a single search experience.
What's NOT included
Start your Search does not include everything in the Library's collections. To ensure you're finding the best possible articles on your research topic, you should search discipline-specific databases directly.
Content that is not included in Start your Search:
It's difficult to track precisely which databases are or are not available in Start your Search for several reasons:
- Many databases are not exclusively available from a single vendor. The Library subscribes to the MLA International Bibliography from ProQuest, for example, but the Bibliography is still available in Start your Search by other means.
- Journals that are available in one database are often also available in other databases. While we know that Compendex is not available in Start your Search, many of the journals in Compendex are available in Start your Search via other library database subscriptions.
Sample Searches - "Start Your Search"
1. "tameka norris"
quotes keep words together as a phrase
2. filipino* farmworker* california
* = truncation/wildcard (child* = child childs children childhood childish...)
3. "self care" undocumented immigra* student*
Start Your Research - Evaluating Search Results
Scan the list of search results. Note the following (in some instances you will have to click on the title of the item to see all the relevant information):
- Title, subject terms
- click on the title to see abstract if there is one
- is the item relevant to your research?
- does it fulfill the requirements of the assignment?
- are there other terms that you could use to search for more items?
- Date of publication – current enough?
- What type of publication is it? Who is the audience?
- Books: more in depth, better for historical background, big picture
- Newspaper articles – most current information, written for a general audience
- Popular magazine article – current, written for a general audience
- Scholarly article – most rigorously researched, written by an expert, reviewed by other scholars, based on original research with all sources cited, published by a scholarly publisher – but this process takes time, so not the most current information
- Other - is this the right type of source for your paper? Ask for assistance if you're not sure
- If it’s an article, what can you tell from the title of periodical?
- can you tell if the publication is scholarly or popular?
- Does the periodical have a subject focus?
Go to the folder icon to view, email or export the items you've saved.
Start Your Search - Filters for narrowing your search
Are there filters in the left sidebar that will help you narrow your search results? Click on the category ("language" "geography") to view the options.