Skip to main content

Citation Management in Physics & Astronomy: Collaboration & Writing Tools

Introduction

As part of a 3-year pilot, the EPS Libraries have licensed three products that make collaborative writing and citing much easier: Mendeley, Overleaf, and ShareLaTeX. Sign up with a UC Berkeley email address (or verify your UC Berkeley email address in an existing account) to get access to the premium features.

We are very interested in your feedback so please give these tools a try. If you have any comments or questions, please contact your librarian.

Mendeley

Mendeley logo

Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network that allows you to organize your references across multiple devices, automatically generate bibliographies, and share references with collaborators online. A free account offers 2GB of storage space and the ability to create 1 private group with up to 3 members.

The Library has licensed Mendeley Institutional Edition for campus as a 3-year pilot to provide access to premium features. Sign up with your Berkeley email address to take advantage of the benefits of your institutional account: 100GB personal library space, 100GB shared library space, 100 collaborators in private groups, and unlimited private groups.

Visit the Mendeley guide for more information.

Overleaf

Overleaf logo

Overleaf is a free online collaborative LaTeX editor with integrated real-time preview. It offers templates for arXiv, journal publishers, presentations, exams, and more, and it can be linked to other services such as Mendeley, Git, and Plot.ly. A free account includes unlimited collaborators, up to 60 files per project, up to 1GB storage, and direct submission to selected publishers.

The Library has licensed Overleaf for campus as part of a 3-year pilot to provide access to premium features. Sign up with your Berkeley email address to get access to a pro account, which provides up to 10GB storage space, 500 files per project, full project history, and the ability to save to Dropbox.

ShareLaTeX

ShareLaTeX logoShareLaTeX is a free online collaborative LaTeX editor. It offers templates for arXiv, journal publishers, presentations, homework, and more. A free account allows unlimited projects but with only one collaborator.

The Library has licensed ShareLaTeX for campus as a 3-year pilot to provide access to premium features. Sign up with your Berkeley email address to take advantage of the university license, which offers unlimited collaborators, document history, track changes, integration with Dropbox, Github & Mendeley, and increased project size limits.

Other Collaborative Writing Tools

Authorea is a free online collaborative editor for writing in Markdown, LaTeX, or Richtext. A free account includes 1 private article, unlimited public articles, and up to 100MB data storage. Premium accounts start at $10/month and include unlimited private articles, DOI minting, and up to 1GB data storage.

bDrive is the UC Berkeley version of Google Drive. Your account allows you to collaborate with others on documents, spreadsheets, presentations, and forms with unlimited storage. 

Other Citation Management Tools

Citation management software helps you manage your papers, collect and cite sources, and create bibliographies in a variety of citation styles.

Popular citation management software in the sciences and engineering include:

  • EndNote (Mac, PC) is bibliographic management software that you install on your computer. It offers sophisticated, flexible tools for organizing references & creating bibliographies. EndNote works with word processing software to format citations, and create bibliographies in a comprehensive array of styles. Get the student price by purchasing online with proof of student status.
  • RefWorks (Online) is a web-based bibliographic management service licensed by the library for use by current UCB faculty, staff and students. It can be used to organize references, format citations, and create bibliographies. To use RefWorks, create an account using the RefWorks New User form.
  • BibTeX: is a tool that can be used with LaTeX  to create documents and bibliographies typesetting language used for scientific document preparation. LaTeX is typesetting language used for scientific document preparation: http://www.latex-project.org. Tools are free to download. The TeX Users Group (TUG) includes an FAQ, links to software. Endnote has a BibTeX output style that will format your citations into TeX.
    • Overleaf is an online collaborative LaTeX editor with integrated real time preview. Get a pro account when you register with your berkeley.edu email address or add your berkeley.edu email address to an existing account. 
    • ShareLaTeX is an online collaborative LaTeX editor. Get a premium account when you register with your berkeley.edu email address or add your berkeley.edu email address to an existing account.
  • Mendeley is a free web-based reference manager & can be used as a social network to organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover current developments. Sign up with your berkeley.edu email address to upgrade to an institutional account. 
  • Papers (Mac) is low-cost software that allows you to search, retrieve, organize, and annotate article PDFs. You can also easily export references into citation management tools like EndNote so that you can use their citation and bibliography formatting features.
  • Zotero is a free Firefox extension that manages citations found online through your browser. You can capture citation information from some web pages and databases, and store citations, PDFs & images for easy retrieval. Zotero can create bibliographies in Word and OpenOffice in a limited number of styles.

English as a Second Language

Are you looking to improve your technical and scientific communication skills in English? These resources may help:

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.