Skip to main content

Water Research: Articles

Articles start

Start with these selected multidisciplinary databases for articles, technical reports, and conference papers.

Best to start

Agricultural & Environmental Science
U.S. Environmental Impact statements, regulations and policies. [1981 - Present.]

ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts
Covers marine, freshwater, and brackish water environments. [1971 - present]

BIOSIS Previews:
Biological and biomedical topics, includes literature reviews. [1926 - present]

Business Source complete:
Management, economics, finance, accounting, company profiles for top companies. [1965 - present. Updated daily.]

CAB Abstracts & Global Health:
Agriculture, biodiversity, biotechnology, nutrition & food, crops, natural resources, forestry, policy, development; [1910 - present]

Environment Complete
Citations and some full text articles and books on environmental topics. [1888 - present]

GeoRef
US and Canadian dissertations, proceedings, reports, government documents, all publications of USGS. General Coverage: 1785 - present. Covers North America, [1693 - present and the world, 1933 - present]

PubMed:
Use UCB access for UC eLinks to full text articles. Access journals in medicine and life sciences.
Coverage: dates vary.

Scopus:
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences and more.

Web of Science
Indexes the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences, citation search.[1900- present]

Selected databases

GreenFILE:
Indexes human impact on the environment, connections between the environment and agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics: global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, +

LexisNexis Academic:
International, national, local newspapers, wire services; transcripts; magazines, journals, and newsletters, translations, and news services.

Oceanic Abstracts
Indexes worldwide technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish-water environment. (1981 - present)

OnePetro:
Online library of technical literature for the oil and gas exploration and production industry. Full text | UCB access only

ProQuest Congressional:
Publications of United States Congress; hearings, reports, prints, CRS reports, executive branch documents. Coverage: dates vary

ProQuest Regulatory Insight
Administrative law histories, search U.S. regulatory history. Database is partially built and will be complete in late 2016. [1936-2016]

articles and data

California Irrigation Management Information System (CIMIS)
Information useful in the planning and management of water resources

Envirofacts
EPA databases on environmental activities affecting air, water and land in the U.S., search by Zip Code. 

EPA National Catalog
Online catalog for the Environmental Protection Agency Libraries.

GPO U.S. Government Publications
Covers U.S. government documents. (Catalog of US Government Publications - GPO Monthly Catalog)

NOAA Library Catalog
Catalog for the library of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.

National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI)
Worldwide and regional weather and climate data. Formerly the National Climatic Data Center (NCDC).

Treatise on Water Science
Contains summaries of the state of the art in water science research.

USGS Water Resources Reports
Search for publications on water resources by the US Geological Survey

Water Conditions (California Department of Water Resources)
Find data and reports on water conditions in California.

Water Intelligence Online
Digital reference library from the International Water Association.

Water Resources Collections & Archives (WRCA)
Primary source, technical materials on water resources in California and the West.

STORET (US Environmental Protection Agency)
The STOrage and RETrieval and Water Quality eXchange, US EPA- is a repository for water quality, water monitoring, biological, and physical data. The Water Quality Exchange allows states, tribes and other partners to submit and share water quality monitoring data.

NTRL (National Technical Reports Library)
Technical reports from the Departments of Defense, Energy, Transportation, Agriculture, Health and Human Services.

Treatise on Estuarine and Coastal Science
Contains summaries of the state of the art in research on estuaries and coasts.

Spatial Hazard Events and Losses Database (SHELDUS)
ACCESS RESTRICTED TO CALNET ID HOLDERS. Individual account creation using Berkeley email address required.
County-level hazard loss data set for the US for 18 different natural hazard events types such as thunderstorms, hurricanes, floods, wildfires, and tornadoes. [1960 - present].

Best to start

Derwent Innovations Index The Derwent Innovations Index indexes patents of chemical, electrical and mechanical inventions. Users may search by topic, inventor, patent assignee, patent number, classification codes, & by chemical compounds. [1963-present]

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.