Skip to main content
Using APA 6th for Citation
"Cheat Sheets" -- very handy guides showing examples of the different types of citations formatted according to APA 6th, from Wake Forest, Purdue and Harvard.
The fulltext of APA 6th is not available online, but we do have print copies in the reference collection of the Social Welfare Library at BF76.7 P83 2010, and it's available at other libraries on campus as well.
Basics of APA Style -- tutorial from APA on how to how to structure and format your work, reduce bias in language, avoid charges of plagiarism, cite references in text and it provides selected reference examples. The APA Style Blog -- is searchable by topic and contains weekly posts by APA experts .
Citation Workshops -- by Request!
If you and 4-5 other students want a workshop on Zotero let me know -- we'll try and find a time that works for everyone!
Citation Management Tools
Citation management tools help you manage your research, collect and cite sources, and create bibliographies in a variety of citation styles. Each one has its strengths and weaknesses, but any are easier than doing it by hand! The Library offers workshops on Endnote, Zotero, and Refworks! Or contact your librarian for individual help.
- Zotero: A free plug-in that works with the Firefox browser, or with other browsers via a standalone version: keeps copies of what you find on the web, permits tagging, notation, full text searching of your library of resources, works with Word, and has a free web backup service (for up to 300 mb). The library has created this handy guide to using Zotero.
- RefWorks - free for UC Berkeley users. It allows you to create your own database by importing references and using them for footnotes and bibliographies. Use the RefWorks New User Form to sign up.
- EndNote: may be purchased from UC Berkeley's Software Central for about $80.
It's always good to double check the formatting -- sometimes the software doesn't get it quite right.