Skip to main content
Start your Search includes books, articles and more.
- Books and eBooks from:
- OskiCat, the UC Berkeley library catalog
- Dozens of eBook databases
- Articles from journals, magazines and newspapers, including article content from:
- Online encyclopedias and dictionaries from a variety of vendors such as:
- Oxford University Press
Start your search is powered by EBSCO Discovery Services and combines a variety of library collections, catalogs and databases into a single search experience.
What's NOT included
Start your Search does not include everything in the Library's collections. To ensure you're finding the best possible articles on your research topic, you should search discipline-specific databases directly.
Content that is not included in Start your Search:
It's difficult to track precisely which databases are or are not available in Start your Search for several reasons:
- Many databases are not exclusively available from a single vendor. The Library subscribes to the MLA International Bibliography from ProQuest, for example, but the Bibliography is still available in Start your Search by other means.
- Journals that are available in one database are often also available in other databases. While we know that Compendex is not available in Start your Search, many of the journals in Compendex are available in Start your Search via other library database subscriptions.
Evaluating your search results
Start Your Search - Filters for narrowing your search
Are there filters in the left sidebar that will help you narrow your search results? Click on the category ("language" "geography") to view the options.