Skip to main content

ETH STD 21AC: A Comparative Survey of Racial and Ethnic Groups in the U.S - Fall 2017: Find Articles

Instructor: Robinson

Article Databases

Search an article database to find citations (title, author, title of journal, date, page numbers) for articles on a particular topic.  The Library gives you access to over 200 article databases covering different disciplines.

1.  Think about which academic disciplines might write about your topic.  Examples:  literature, film, anthropology, history...

2.  Find the appropriate article database by subject (academic discipline or department).  Look for "Recommended" databases.

Library home > click on Databases, then click on:  Browse Databases. 

Pull down the "All Subjects" menu to browse a list of databases by academic discipline, and/or pull down the "All Database Types" to browse lists by type of database (article databases, statistical databases, image databases, etc.).

Examples of Databases for Scholarly Journal Articles

These are just a few examples.  You can find other databases that cover a particular academic discipline (see above "Article Databases" )

Examples of Databases for Finding News Articles

These are just a few examples.  To find other news databases, start with the Library home > Articles > News Article Databases

About JSTOR!

Library home > Articles > General Article Databases > JSTOR

Everyone Loves JSTOR:

  • interdisciplinary
  • scholarly
  • full text available AND searchable - you may find topics you won't find elsewhere because they're only part of an article on a related topic
  • covers journals from their earliest publication dates

CAUTIONS:

  • DOES NOT INCLUDE THE LAST 3-5 YEARS of a journal!  not good for contemporary topics!
  • doesn't include as many journals in a particular discipline as the discipline-specific database (example: MLA Bibliography for literature)

Sample Searches and Strategies - Finding Articles

1.  search for scholarly articles about the organization you're researching (warning:  there will probably not be many)

2.  search for scholarly articles about the broader concept that the organization represents (examples:  prison abolition, jail diversion, militarization of police)

3.  search for mainstream newspaper articles about the organization you're researching; and the concept, if relevant

4.  search for ethnic newspaper articles about the organization you're researching; and the concept, if relevant

 

Social Sciences - scholarly articles + dissertations + ethnic newspapers

Library home > Databases:  Browse Databases > (pull down the "All Subjects" menu to Ethnic Studies;  pull down the "All Database Types" to Articles  > ProQuest Social Sciences


Example of a search using multiple terms, phrase searching, alternative terms, truncation,etc

1.   searching a phrase (two or more words that need to be together)

      "prison abolition" (anywhere)

      - add additional terms to narrow search results; use alternative terms as appropriate
      - * = truncation symbol/wildcard (prison* = prison, prisons, prisoner, prisoners...)

      "prison abolition" (anywhere)
      gender* or women or feminis*  (anywhere)

      on the left:  limit to scholarly journals

2.    one way to figure out the broader concept associated with an organization:

       "criminal mental health project"  (anywhere)
        miami  (anywhere)

       on the left:  limit to scholarly journals

       - look through search results for a useful term:

         "jail diversion" (anywhere)

3.    limit by geographical location (careful - doesn't always work perfectly)

       militarization of police (anywhere)

       on the left:  limit to scholarly journals
       on the left:  limit to locations (check off US locations)

4.     be creative about terminology:

        "gender responsive corrections"  (anywhere)

        notice that sometimes the term "gender responsive" is used on its own; try again:

         "gender responsive"  (anywhere)
          jail* or prison* or correctional* or incarcerat*  (anywhere)

5.      when using very general terms, sometimes easier NOT to search full text:

        child*  (anywhere except full text)
        migration (anywhere except full text)
        united states  (anywhere except full text)

 

 

Mainstream newspapers:  especially local California newspapers

 

Library home > Articles > News article databases > Access World News

       (all text)   "domain awareness center" 

      need to narrow down?  pull down the "dates" menu to "all text" to get a 2nd row

        (all text)   "domain awareness center" 
        (all text)  controvers* or protest* or concern*

 

if desired, click on California newspapers

delano ii prison*  (all text)  - a lot of noise

"delano II" prison* (all text)

a little googling for an alternative term:

kern valley state prison (all text)

 

UC-eLinks - Find Article Text/Location

Once you've searched a database to find articles, you may need to use UC-eLinks orange logo to link to a PDF or html file if the full text is not immediately available. Each database is a bit different, but a good rule of thumb is this: when you see the Uc-eLinks icon click on it to view your article access options, which can range from full text to a call number to an Interlibrary Loan request:

UC e-Links image

For more information, here's a tutorial on using UC-eLinks.

Search Results

  • click on the title to see full record (including abstracts and descriptors)
  • to limit by publication type (peer-reviewed journals, conferences, books, etc.) click on the appropriate tab or link
  • if necessary,look for other limits (latest update, journal articles only, english only) and more advanced searches
  • select records to save to your personalized list; lists may be e-mailed, downloaded, printed

Copy the permanent link

Once you find an online library resource, you need to copy the URL.

  • Unfortunately, copying and pasting links directly from the URL toolbar for some library databases will not work.
  • To add a functioning link to bCourses, look for buttons or links such as Permalink, Stable URL, or Durable URL, and copy those URLs for use in bCourses. 
  • Always try to open the resource URL in a new browser window/tab before adding it to your bCourses site.

Some example buttons/links to look out for:

  • EBSCOHost
  • ProQuest
    You can usually copy the URL from the browser's URL toolbar for ProQuest databases.
    Others include a Durable URL field:
  • JSTOR
Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.