Skip to main content

IAS 102 Honors: Scope and Methods of Research in International and Area Studies: Intro

Campus Library Map

Select the image below to see the full campus library map.

Campus map of UCB Libraries

See also:

Connecting from Off Campus

You can access UCB Library resources from off campus using one of two simple methods:

Proxy Server
After you make a one-time change in your web browser settings, the proxy server will ask you to log in with a CalNet ID or Library PIN when you click on the link to a licensed resource. See the setup instructions, FAQ, and Troubleshooting pages to configure your browser.

VPN (Virtual Private Network)
After you install and run the VPN "client" software on your computer, you can log in with a CalNet ID to establish a secure connection with the campus network.

Catalogs and Search Engines

Start Your Search. Books, ebooks, journal articles, JSTOR, and other content rolled into one integrated library platform.  Does not include content from many business databases, numeric data, and content from Proquest.

ProQuest Social Sciences.  Wide range of scholarly sources in the social sciences from Proquest. This is an excellent starting database for interdisciplinary research.​

Google Scholar. Functions as both a key word database for articles and books. It automatically connects to select licensed content held by the UC libraries.

Oskicat. UC Berkeley libraries catalog. Includes records for most UCB library materials, including books, e-books, journal and e-journal titles, films and videos, maps, archival materials, and much more. See also the Quick Guide to Oskicat and Oskicat Tutorial.

Google Books. Search the text of books, view previews still in copyright, and read full text of out-of-copyright books. To find a copyrighted book, use the "find in a Library" link to locate the book at UC Berkeley.

Melvyl. Catalog for all UC Campus libraries, including selected libraries on campus not in Oskicat, e.g. the Boalt Law Library.

Background Country Information

Unless you are familiar with the historical information of a region it is a good idea to get background information on your topic.   Here are some sample online sources.  

Cambridge Histories Online.  Well written and authoritative searchable database of World History books from Cambridge. University Press.  Many histories have a regional (e.g. Southeast Asia) or national subject focus. .

Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Country Reports and Profiles. Indexes studies that provide analysis and forecasts of the political, economic, and business environments in more than 180 countries. Annual profiles are updated by quarterly reports.

Human Development Report Library. The web site includes the UNDP flagship publication the Human Development Report, as well as national human development reports from over 250 countries and regions.

Routledge Politics and International Relations Online. Extensive collection of reference books and encyclopedias from Routledge. Coverage includes globalization, international security, political thought, peace and conflict, political chronologies and more.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.