Skip to main content

IAS 102 Honors: Scope and Methods of Research in International and Area Studies: Books

Research Approach

Unless you are very familiar with your topic it's a good idea to get some background first.  Books often provide this so a search in Oskicat for general works may be worth it.  You can then proceed to find detailed information in journal articles. 

OskiCat

OskiCat is the catalog for most of the UC Berkeley libraries

  • Find books and other items in most libraries at UC Berkeley.
    What's included?
  • Search keywords (including author's name, title, subjects, etc.)
  • Limit by library location, date, language, publication format, etc.
  • See only items that are available.
  • Find materials on reserve, by course or instructor.
  • View status of individual volumes and journal issues.
  • Follow links to the full text of some items.
  • FAQ
  • Help

Use My OskiCat to:

  • Save and e-mail your search results.
  • View your list of items checked out, and renew items.
  • Get e-mail notices when your items are about to be due.
  • Request items checked out to another borrower.
  • Get updates on items you have requested from storage.
  • Note: The Stanford University Library catalog cannot be searched, or their items requested, through OskiCat. 

Ebooks

Cambridge Core Ebooks.Selection of current e-books from Cambridge University Press

ebrary. Our largest e-book collection, with over 50,000 titles on a wide range of subjects. Find them in OskiCat (keyword: ebrary) or search the ebrary website directly. 

JSTOR.  Full-text access to scholarly journals and now books from a wide range of disciplines. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR

OECD iLibrary. Full-text publications and data from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), including country studies, reports, development aid information, government assistance, and many socioeconomic datasets. 

Oxford Scholarship Online. Cross-searchable library containing the full text of books in many subjects, including economics and finance from 2008 to present.

Project Muse. Digitized scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. Topics include history, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. 

World Bank e-Library. Full-text World Bank publications from mid 1990's to present. Topics covered include: economics and finance, public policy, education, international development, technology, poverty, gender, and more.

Melvyl

Melvyl lets you search for items at UC Berkeley as well as other UC campuses.

  • Find books and other items in over 10,000 libraries, including most items in the UC campus libraries.
  • See which local libraries have an item, and check availability in their catalogs (items at UCB appear first, along with their current availability status).
  • Find UC books digitized by Google and materials from the Online Archive of California, UC eScholarship, and UC Press.
  • Find magazine and journal articles, government documents, etc. from over 20 databases, available to UCB-affiliated users.
  • Share items using Facebook, Twitter, Reddit, and similar tools.
  • Automatically format citations for your bibliography.
  • Export citations to EndNote or RefWorks.
  • Read reviews from other users and Amazon.com.
  • Melvyl® is a registered trademark of The Regents of the University of California.

Sign in to:

  • Save searches to re-run later.
  • Save items in personalized lists.
  • Get updates from other users' lists.
  • Write reviews for other users to read.
  • Quick Reference Guide (PDF)
  • FAQ

Use Melvyl as a traditional catalog (i.e., remove articles from search results)

  1. Click on Advanced Search
  2. Click on Add/Remove databases
  3. Click on clear all
  4. Check the box for WorldCat
  5. Click on Save Selections

Google Books

Why use Google Books? Library catalogs (like OskiCat) don't search inside books; using a library catalog, you can search only information about the book (title, author, Library of Congress subject headings, etc.).  Google Books will let you search inside books, which can be very useful for hard-to-find information.  You can then use Google Books' Find in a Library link to locate the book in a UC Berkeley library, or search OskiCat to see if UC Berkeley owns the book.Try it now:

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.