Skip to main content

IAS 102 Honors: Scope and Methods of Research in International and Area Studies: Articles

Dissertations

Dissertations and Theses (Dissertation Abstracts)Index and full text of graduate dissertations and theses from North American and European schools and universities, including the University of California.

Sociology & Anthropology

Anthropology Plus. Indexes journal articles, essays, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology as well as ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture. 

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS). Indexes journals, books, chapters, and book reviews in the fields of economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology from more than 100 countries.

JSTOR. Includes over 1000 scholarly journals with access to more than 2 million articles. JSTOR is an archive which means that current issues (generally the most recent 3-5 years) of the journals are not yet available. 

Project MUSE. Scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. Topics include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others.

ProQuest Social Sciences. Interdisciplinary metasearch of the Proquest social sciences indexes. Includes EconLit, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), PAIS, PsycInfo, Sociological Abstracts, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts and more.

Sociological Abstracts. Indexes journals, books, dissertations, and reviews in the social sciences on sociological topics as well as selected anthropology, criminology, demography, law, social psychology, and urban development. 

Social Work Abstracts. Indexes  journals related to social work on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, and community organization

Urban Studies and Planning: A SAGE Full-Text Collection. Covers  Economic Development, Planning, Policy Analysis, Political Science, Public Administration, Regional Geography, Community Development, Urban Policy, and Welfare Economics.

Women's Studies International. Indexes books, journals, magazines, and other resources related to research and commentary on women and women's issues, feminism, and gender.

Economics and Political Science

Business Source Complete.  Scholarly business journals and other sources, including peer-reviewed business publications, including management, economics, finance, international business, and more.

CAB Abstracts. International database covering sustainable development and applied life sciences, with emphasis on agriculture, forestry, human health, and the management of natural resources, with particular attention to the needs of developing countries.

EconLit. The most comprehensive index to scholarly journal articles in economics. It also lists books and dissertations, and indexes articles within 'collective works' (books consisting of collections of essays or individual papers). 

Eldis.  Materials on development, policy, practice and research.  Thousands of full text documents free to download as well as resource guides and country profiles.

JSTOR. Includes over 1000 scholarly journals with access to more than 2 million articles. JSTOR is an archive which means that current issues (generally the most recent 3-5 years) of the journals are not yet available.

PAIS International. Indexes books, journals, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, and web sources related to public policy, politics, economics, and social issues worldwide. 

ProQuest Social Sciences. Interdisciplinary metasearch of the Proquest social sciences databases. Includes EconLit, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), PAIS, Sociological Abstracts, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts and more.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.  Indexes books, journals, and dissertations within the field of political science and related to international relations, law and politics, political economy, public administration, and public policy. 

Global Studies

ABSEES Online Database. Journal articles, books, dissertations, government publications, and other sources published in the US and Canada on East and Central Europe, Russia, and former Soviet Union.

Africa-Wide Information.  A comprehensive database covering journals, magazines, newspapers, broadcasts, books and more on Africa. 

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS). Citations to journal articles, books, and conference proceedings worldwide on the countries, of East, South, and Southeast Asia.

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online). Journals, books, policy briefs, working papers, and conference proceedings from research institutes worldwide related to international affairs and advocacy.

Eldis Materials on development, policy, practice and research.  Thousands of full text documents free to download as well as resource guides and country profiles. See also their Custom Search Engine for development web sites. 

Handbook of Latin American Studies. Indexes books, journals and proceedings on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars in humanities and social sciences.

Index Islamicus. Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS). Indexes journals, books, chapters, and book reviews in the fields of economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology from more than 100 countries. 

PAIS International. Indexes books, journals, government documents, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, and web sources related to public policy, politics, economics, and social issues.

RedALyC: Red de Revistas Cientificas de America Latina y El Caribe. Hundreds of Spanish language ejournals maintained by the Universidad Autónoma del Estado de México, covering all aspects of the humanities, social sciences, and sciences and with a focus on materials published in and about the nations of the Spanish. 

SciELO: Scientific Electronic Library Online. Collection of open access scholarly online journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities in the Global South, particularly Latin America and the Caribbean. 

Web of Science. Indexes the leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences. Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Social Sciences Citation Index.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Books, journals, and dissertations in political science, international relations, law and politics, political economy, public administration, and public policy. 

Women's Studies International. Indexes books, journals, and other resources related to research and commentary on women and women's issues, feminism, and gender.

Health & the Environment

PubMed. National Library of Medicine's database from biomedical journals published in the United States and worldwide. 

BIOSIS Previews. Comprehensive database for the ife sciences. Covers biology, biomedicine, agriculture, pharmacology and ecology,  biochemistry, biophysics, biotechnology etc.

CAB Abstracts. International database covering sustainable development and applied life sciences, with emphasis on agriculture, forestry, human health, and the management of natural resources.

Environment Complete. Citations to, plus some full text for, journal articles and books on a wide variety of environmental topics

Global Health.  Indexes journals, books, reports, conference proceedings,patents, theses, and electronic only publications. Topics include environmental and occupational health, food safety and hygiene, infectious diseases, nutrition, public health, and more.

IndMED  Database of Indian biomedical research.To search, type your search terms in the search form and then click "Begin search," or one may utilize the Advanced Search function.

LILACS: Latin American and Caribbean Health Sciences. Covers literature related to the health sciences that has been published in Latin American countries. 

Web of Science. Indexes the leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences, providing searching of footnoted citations. Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Social Sciences Citation Index.

World Health Organization Regional Databases.  Regional health and medical databases  from countries outside the major industrialized areas which not included in Medline. Includes:

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.