Skip to main content

IAS 102 Honors: Scope and Methods of Research in International and Area Studies: News & Media

Fake News

Fake news may seem like a joke but it is a real problem - see Facebook's fake news problem in one chart.  "Real news" is written by professional journalists who adhere to ethical guidelines for gathering and writing the news. The library has created a research guide that helps you to both evaluate news and also detect fake or suspicious sources.  For more information on our newspaper sources see the complete collection in our electronic resource database.

Media

Find videos

OskiCat - Search the library catalog to find videos in the Media Resources Center and other library locations.

For video formats, limit your search to Films/Videos/Slides
OskiCat - Films/Videos/Slides

Search for directors and artists as an Author (last name, first)
OskiCat - Author

Media Resources Center (MRC) - Browse the collections of the MRC by title, director, genre, theme, language or country, and date or era.

Moving image databases - Browse the library’s online moving image collections.

Find audio

OskiCat - Search the library catalog to find audio recordings in the Music Library and other library locations.

For audio formats, limit your OskiCat search to Sound Recordings
OskiCat - Sound recording

From the OskiCat advanced search you can limit to specific sound recording formats:
OskiCat - Sound recording format

  • All Sound Recording Formats
  • Disc 33 1/3 rpm
  • Disc 45 rpm
  • Disc 78 rpm
  • Compact Disc
  • Cassette Tape
  • Reel to Reel Tape

The Music Library - Many of the Library’s audio recordings are housed in the Music Library. Consult their website for further help researching music and audio topics.

Sound/Audio databases- Browse the library’s online sound and audio collections.

Selected Foreign Language/Regional News

Access World News. Full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources. Offers strong regional coverage for California newspapers.

allAfrica.com. Articles from news publications throughout Africa. Also includes press releases and documents from 200 governments and non-governmental organizations in and outside of Africa.

Asahi Kikuzo II. A full text database of Asahi Shinbun, one of the two major newspapers in Japan, from the inaugural issue in 1879 to present. 

Factiva. General and business news and information from sources in 22 languages, including local, national and international newspapers, business magazines, trade publications, and wires. 

International Newstream. Articles from hundreds of newspapers worldwide, plus reports from media monitoring organizations which include broadcast and wire service content. 

ISLA Information Services. Comprehensive overview of U.S. and British media coverage of Latin America and the Caribbean.

Japan Times Archives. Offers access to nearly 500,000 pages of English-language articles published in the Japan Times newspaper since the first issue in March 1897. [1897-2014].

Latin America Advisor. Published every business day by the Inter-American Dialogue, this resource offers insight into Latin America's development and future. [2009 - present].

Le Monde diplomatique. Le Monde articles published back to 1954 (French edition), and back to 1996 (English edition). Fully searchable archive of all articles published in the original French edition back to the first issue in 1954 and back to 1996 for English. 

Mideastwire.com. Brief English translations of Arabic, Kurdish, and Persian news articles from Arab countries, Iran and the Diaspora. 

People's Daily. A complete archive of the People's Daily, the leading newspaper in China. Provides a complete archive of the People's Daily, the leading newspaper in China, from the birth of the People's Republic of China to 2002.

Pravda Digital Archive. Full text and full image coverage of Pravda beginning in 1912 to the present. Searchable in Russian Cyrillic or transliteration.

South Asian Newspapers (from the World Newspaper Archive). Digitized historical collection of South Asian newspapers. A growing collection of South Asian newspapers.

The Times of India. Historical newspaper with articles in colonialism and post-colonialism, British and world history, class and gender, international relations, comparative religion, economics and more.

English News and Current Events

Fair Observer.  Nonprofit organization that aims to inform and educate global citizens.

Financial Times.  Access to the Financial Times from January 1998 to present. For historical access see the Financial Times Historical Archive which has the complete run of the daily Financial Times from 1888 through 2006.

Historical Newspapers (ProQuest). A newspaper digital archive for significant newspapers dating back to the 18th Century. Every issue of each title includes the complete paper-cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images. 

New American Media. News coverage from a national network of ethnic media outlets. Founded by Pacific News Service, NAM is a collaboration of and advocate for ethnic news organizations. [2002 - present]

Historical Newspapers OnlineIncludes digitized articles from the Times (London) from 1800-1870, as well citations to the Times (London) from 1790-1980, and a partial index of the New York Times from 1863-1922. 

Lexis-Nexis. Full-text source for business, current affairs, legal information, medical information and news appearing in newspapers, journals, newsletters, broadcast transcripts, reference works and other documents.

New York Times.  Full-text coverage of the New York Times. For Historical issues see Historical Newspapers (ProQuest).

Project Syndicate. Excellent collection of commentaries from some of the world's leading economists and opinions makers.

ProQuest Newspapers. National and regional newspapers from across the U.S.  Includes New York Times (full text, Historical, 1881-1985, with Index, 1851-1993 + 1980-current). Los Angeles Times (full text, Historical, 1881-1985 + 1985-current). Wall Street Journal (full text, Historical, 1889-1995 + 1984-current).

San Francisco Chronicle Archive, Complete. Two databases comprising the complete San Francisco Chronicle. 1865-1984, page images from the print edition. 1985 onward has full-text from the electronic edition, lacking graphics.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.