Skip to main content

IAS 102 Honors: Scope and Methods of Research in International and Area Studies: Statistics

Selected Data Sources

AID Data. Micro data  from around the world, articles on aid data from  journals, and "aid data raw" which allows researchers to tabulate aid data by donor, recipient, and purpose for multiple years.  Includes data visualization tools.

Center for Systemic Peace (Polity IV). Sponsor of the Integrated Network for Societal Conflict Research (INSCR) which has data on armed conflict and interventions, political regime characteristics, armed conflict, state fragility,  and much more. 

Correlates of War. Data on wars, non-state wars, and interstate disputes dating back to the 19th century. Associated or correlated measures include membership in international organizations, religion, alliances, colonial dependencies, diplomatic exchanges, and more

Cross National Time Series.  A single longitudinal nation-level data series spanning 200 years and over 200 countries covering a variety of demographic, social, political, and economic topics. This is a licensed resource that may only be used at UC Berkeley.

Data Planet. One-stop shop for data from licensed and public domain datasets. Sources of data include local, state and international governments and organizations.

Database of Political Institutions. Data includes measures checks and balances, tenure, type, and stability of the government, party affiliation and ideology, fragmentation of opposition, and parties in the legislature.

Data on Armed Conflict List. Peace Research Institute Oslo (PRIO) has collected a list of different datasets on armed conflicts.

Democracy Times Series Data.  Contains data on the social, economic and political characteristics of 191 nations with over 600 variables from 1971.

Global Terrorism Databases.  Open-source databases with information on terrorist events around the world from 1970. Includes data on domestic as well as international terrorist incidents with more than 140,000 cases.

Human Development Report Statistics. Statistics from the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP). Links to the text of national human development reports from over 250 countries and regions.

Humanitarian Outcomes. Data from an independent group providing evidence-based analysis and policy consultation to governments and international organizations on humanitarian response efforts.

The Macro Data Guide.  Comprehensive guide to macro data broken down by country and topic.  Includes the following subcategories.

Minorities at Risk Project. University-based research project that monitors and analyzes the status and conflicts of politically-active communal groups in all countries with a current population of at least 500,000,

OECD iLibrary. Leading International Organization for Foreign Aid data and many other indicators (primarily for OECD countries).

PolicyMap. US demographic and socioeconomic data indicators from the neighborhood census block to national levels: data on demographics, neighborhood conditions, real estate, income, jobs, education, crime, and health.

PRS Group Country Data. Political risk data for 140 countries from 1980, as well as macroeconomic data and Political Risk Services (PRS) forecasting on bureaucracy, corruption, civil disorders, ethnic tensions, poverty, inflation, terrorism, etc.

Social Explorer. Current and historical census data and other demographic information, such as religious organizations. Web interface lets users create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze and  demographic and social change

SIPRI's (Stockholm International Peace Research Institute). Data on security, peace operations, military expenditures, arms transfers, arms embargoes, and arms exports.

UN Data. Wide range of economic, social, cultural, and demographic indicators: population, environment, health, economics, technology, trade, refugees, and more.

World Development Indicators. Time series data from 1960 for 207 countries in the areas of population, labour, education, economics, the environment and much more.

World's Top Income Database.  Top income share time series over the long-run for more than twenty countries to date, primarily from countries in Europe, North America and Developed Asia.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.