Skip to main content
Some possible starting points
Below are some examples of kinds of sources that might be helpful early in the research process.
To find this kind of thing search for the author name or topic keyword +
Civil Disobedience: An encyclopedic history of dissidence in the United States
This comprehensive A-Z encyclopedia provides a wealth of information on people, places, actions, and events that defied the law to focus attention on an issue or cause. It covers the causes and actions of activists across the political spectrum from colonial times to the present, and includes political, social economic, environmental, and a myriad of other issues.
Encyclopedia of American Civil Rights and Liberties
Spanning three volumes, this comprehensive encyclopedia of over six hundred entries covers the full range of civil rights and liberties in America from the antecedents of the Bill of Rights through the most recent controversies over political and social issues, including abortion, free speech, religious liberty, voting rights, and the guarantees of equality.
The Essential Mario Savio (ebook)
This compendium of influential speeches and previously unknown writings offers insight into and perspective on the disruptive yet nonviolent civil disobedience tactics used by Savio. The Essential Mario Savio is the perfect introduction to an American icon and to one of the most important social movements of the post-war period in the United States. Also available in print
Library of Congress Subject Headings, a few examples:
- Search for author using the author search: Shelley, Mary
- Use an asterisk as a wildcard: litera* finds literature, literary, literally, etc.
- Limit results by language (Modify search)
Limit your search results
Limit to specific libraries to hone your results by choosing the Entire Collection dropdown in OskiCat:
Some items in OskiCat are located in the NRLF, which stands for the Northern Regional Library Facility, a UC Library storage facility in Richmond, CA. You can easily get ahold of most items in NRLF by selecting the Request link: