Skip to main content

AMER STD 191: American Studies Thesis Fall 2017 Walker: Find Articles

Article Databases

Search an article database to find citations (title, author, title of journal, date, page numbers) for articles on a particular topic.  The Library gives you access to over 200 article databases covering different disciplines.

1.  Think about which academic disciplines might write about your topic.  Examples:  literature, film, anthropology, history...

2.  Find the appropriate article database by subject (academic discipline or department).  Look for "Recommended" databases.

Library home > click on Databases, then click on:  Browse Databases. 

Pull down the "All Subjects" menu to browse a list of databases by academic discipline, and/or pull down the "All Database Types" to browse lists by type of database (article databases, statistical databases, image databases, etc.).

Sample Searches - Article Databases

Multiple social sciences:

Proquest Social Science databases:  

Library home > Databases: Browse Databases  >  All Subjects:  American Studies   All Database Types:  Articles  >  ProQuest Social Sciences  to search multiple social science databases

1.  Example of a search using multiple terms and truncation,etc

"african american*" or black*  (anywhere)
"middle school" (anywhere)
girl* or female* (anywhere)
"at risk" (anywhere)

limit to scholarly journals (on the left)

2.  narrow your results by limilting your search to anywhere EXCEPT full text:

"african american*" or black*  (anywhere but full text)
"middle school" (anywhere)
girl* or female* (anywhere but full text)
"at risk" (anywhere)

 

health dispar* minorit* (anywhere)

health dispar* minorit* (anywhere except full text)

look for official subject terms:

"health disparities" (subject)
rac* or ethnic* or minorit* (anywhere)

limit to scholarly journals

3.  look through your search results for additional useful terms

greenwashing

corporate social responsibility

social responsibility of business

 

specialized databases have useful specialized features:

Education:  ERIC

health education (anywhere)

education level:  9th grade

US & Canadian history:  America:  History and Life

consumerism (select a field - optional)

era:  1980 - 1990

 

Newspapers:  Access World News

Library home > Databases: Browse Databases  >  All Database Types:  News > Access World News

koreatown
oakland

Improving your searches!

  • Wildcard (usually * but not always):  icon*
  • Phrase searching ("affirmative action")  "spanish american war"
  • using alternative terminology: rac* or ethnic* or minorit*
  • changing your termninology - 
    • narrower terms  (cambodian american instead of southeast asian american)
    • broader:   media instead of advertising
    • related:   gender instead of/in addition to:  women
  • using official subject terms (black women executives)
  • to narrow your search:  add a search term
  • to broaden your search:  eliminate a search term
  • try another database

Search Results

  • click on the title to see full record (including abstracts and descriptors)
  • to limit by publication type (peer-reviewed journals, conferences, books, etc.) click on the appropriate tab or link
  • if necessary,look for other limits (latest update, journal articles only, english only) and more advanced searches
  • select records to save to your personalized list; lists may be e-mailed, downloaded, printed

UC-eLinks - Find Article Text/Location

Once you've searched a database to find articles, you may need to use UC-eLinks orange logo to link to a PDF or html file if the full text is not immediately available. Each database is a bit different, but a good rule of thumb is this: when you see the Uc-eLinks icon click on it to view your article access options, which can range from full text to a call number to an Interlibrary Loan request:

UC e-Links image

For more information, here's a tutorial on using UC-eLinks.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.