ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is the world's most widely used index to educational-related literature. Content includes
Full-text: includes many full-text documents or links to full text via UC-eLinks.
Coverage: 1966 - current
Grey literature: indexes grey literature content published by 1,057 selected centers, agencies, programs, associations, non-profit organizations, and initiatives. To see a current list of these non-journal sources on the ERIC website.
PDFs online: In August of 2012 ERIC discovered that personally identifiable information appeared in some ERIC documents and were easily discoverable online. ERIC removed access to all full-text documents due to the security concerns. As of July 2014, Approximately 94% of the PDFs that ERIC has permission to display are now available. This includes all peer-reviewed materials, documents published after 2004, and PDFs that were scanned electronically for sensitive information.
UC Berkeley defaults to the advanced search interface in ERIC via Proquest which allows you to search on multiple terms and to select from a a number of searchable fields.
Use the thesaurus to find subject terms to narrow or broaden your search. ERIC uses a controlled vocabulary (or ERIC descriptors) that may help you find more relevant, more precise results.
For example, entering the following phrases in the thesaurus search term box leads the user to a more commonly used or precise ERIC descriptor:
ERIC also adds many additional indexes that allows users to get more precise results. Some of the indexes that users can search on include:
When you enter a search you will retrieve a results page. Some features to look out for on the results page: