Skip to main content

Miller Scholars Fall 2017: Start Your Search

Instructor: Bradford

What's included

Start your Search includes books, articles and more.

Start your search is powered by EBSCO Discovery Services and combines a variety of library collections, catalogs and databases into a single search experience.

What's NOT included

Start your Search does not include everything in the Library's collections. To ensure you're finding the best possible articles on your research topic, you should search discipline-specific databases directly. 

Content that is not included in Start your Search:

Caveats
It's difficult to track precisely which databases are or are not available in Start your Search for several reasons:

  1. Many databases are not exclusively available from a single vendor. The Library subscribes to the MLA International Bibliography from ProQuest, for example, but the Bibliography is still available in Start your Search by other means.
  2. Journals that are available in one database are often also available in other databases. While we know that Compendex is not available in Start your Search, many of the journals in Compendex are available in Start your Search via other library database subscriptions.

Sample Searches - "Start Your Search"

1.  keyword search (two concepts); phrase searching; wildcard

     "military industrial" complex

quotes keep two or more words together as a phrase

on the left:  limit to scholarly materials

narrow down the results by adding terms

         "military industrial" complex
         "united states" or america*

if that doesn't work, try the following (which might leave out some relevant hits...but):

   "military industrial" complex
   on the left, "limit to":  geography - click on "show more" and check off every relevant box

2.  using subject terms:

    corrupt*
    compar*
     mexico
    "united states"

try again, changing one or more search to a subject search:

    corrupt*   (subject)
    compar*
     mexico
    "united states"

 

3.  alternative terms:

     gullah*
     language*
     "west africa*" or "sierra leone"

Search Results Annotated

Start Your Search - Filters for narrowing your search

Are there filters in the left sidebar that will help you narrow your search results?  Click on the category ("language" "geography") to view the options.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.