College Writing 1A, Asking Searching Learning, Fall 2017: "Start Your Search"

What's included

Start your Search does not include everything in the Library's collections. To ensure you're finding the best possible articles on your research topic, you should search discipline-specific databases directly. 

Content that is not included in Start your Search:

• Non-UCB Melvyl results aren't included. Use the Find More through Melvyl link in your search results to continue your search in Melvyl.
• Most archival and primary resource collections
• Most image, sound/audio, and film/video resources
• Many (but not all) of our ProQuest databases, including PQ Dissertations and Theses, PQ Congressional, Avery Index of Architectural Periodicals, PQ Historical Newspapers and GeoRef. You can search across all of our ProQuest databases here.
• Other discipline-specific databases, such as Geobase and Compendex
• Many market research databases, such as Gartner and BCC Research

Caveats
It's difficult to track precisely which databases are or are not available in Start your Search for several reasons:

1. Many databases are not exclusively available from a single vendor. The Library subscribes to the MLA International Bibliography from ProQuest, for example, but the Bibliography is still available in Start your Search by other means.
2. Journals that are available in one database are often also available in other databases. While we know that Compendex is not available in Start your Search, many of the journals in Compendex are available in Start your Search via other library database subscriptions.

1.  keywords; narrow your focus by adding another search term; variant word endings

      guano

on the left, limit to scholarly/peer reviewed articles; or limit to books, limit by language...

2.   guano peru*

* = truncation symbol/wildcard; child* = child, childs, children, childhood, childish...

3.    "chincha islands"

quotation marks keep two or more words together as a phrase

Are there filters in the left sidebar that will help you narrow your search results?  Click on the category ("language" "geography") to view the options.