College Writing 1A, Asking Searching Learning, Fall 2017: Finding Articles

Search an article database to find citations (title, author, title of journal, date, page numbers) for articles on a particular topic.  The Library gives you access to over 200 article databases covering different disciplines.

1. Think about which academic disciplines might write about your topic.  Examples:  literature, film, anthropology, history...
2. From the Library home page, click on "Find + borrow", select "Collections" from the dropdown menu, and choose the "Use Berkeley's electronic databases" box.
3. Select the appropriate academic disciplines and then look for "Recommended" databases.

Library home > Databases>  Browse Databases > pull down "All Database Types" to:  Archival Collections and Primary Sources> Historical Newspapers (ProQuest)

advanced search

     guano 
     chincha or lobos or peru*
     chinese or coolie* 

to narrow your search further - add a term

add a row

mutin*

• click on the title to see full record (including abstracts and descriptors)
• to limit by publication type (peer-reviewed journals, conferences, books, etc.) click on the appropriate tab or link
• if necessary,look for other limits (latest update, journal articles only, english only) and more advanced searches
• select records to save to your personalized list; lists may be e-mailed, downloaded, printed

Library home > Articles > General Article Databases > JSTOR

Everyone Loves JSTOR:

• interdisciplinary
• scholarly
• full text available AND searchable - you may find topics you won't find elsewhere because they're only part of an article on a related topic
• covers journals from their earliest publication dates

CAUTIONS:

• DOES NOT INCLUDE THE LAST 3-5 YEARS of a journal!  not good for contemporary topics!
• doesn't include as many journals in a particular discipline as the discipline-specific database (example: MLA Bibliography for literature)