Skip to main content

Linguistics 1B: Endangered Languages - Fall 2017: Finding Articles

Instructor: Faytak

Article Databases

Search an article database to find citations (title, author, title of journal, date, page numbers) for articles on a particular topic.  The Library gives you access to over 200 article databases covering different disciplines.

1.  Think about which academic disciplines might write about your topic.  Examples:  literature, film, anthropology, history...

2.  Find the appropriate article database by subject (academic discipline or department).  Look for "Recommended" databases.

Library home > click on Databases, then click on:  Browse Databases. 

Pull down the "All Subjects" menu to browse a list of databases by academic discipline, and/or pull down the "All Database Types" to browse lists by type of database (article databases, statistical databases, image databases, etc.).

Sample Searches - Article Databases

Sample Searches in Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts and MLA Bibliography (scholarly articles in literature, film, language, folklore)

Library home:  Databases > Browse Databases >  pull down "All subjects" menu to:   Linguistics > Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts

click on link at the top:  change databases

check off MLA Bibliography  - now you are searching both databases at the same time!

mohawk (anywhere)
revitaliz* or renewal or revival (anywhere)

master apprentice program*

narrow results by:

language:  english

peer reviewed journals

Ethnic Newspapers

Library home:  Databases > Browse Databases > pull down the "All Database types" menu to:  News  > Ethnic NewsWatch

hawaiian (anywhere)
language* (anywhere)
revitaliz* or renewal or revival (anywhere)

if you need to narrow things down - don't search full text:

hawaiian (anywhere except full text)
language* (anywhere except full text)
revitaliz* or renewal or revival (anywhere except full text)

California, National and International Newspapers

Library home:  Databases > Browse Databases > pull down the "All Database types" menu to:  News  > Access World News

(all text)  "maori language"

(all text)  "hawaiian language"

if your results are too broad, try:

     (lead/first paragraph)  "hawaiian language"

Search Results

  • click on the title to see full record (including abstracts and descriptors)
  • to limit by publication type (peer-reviewed journals, conferences, books, etc.) click on the appropriate tab or link
  • if necessary,look for other limits (latest update, journal articles only, english only) and more advanced searches
  • select records to save to your personalized list; lists may be e-mailed, downloaded, printed

UC-eLinks - Find Article Text/Location

Once you've searched a database to find articles, you may need to use UC-eLinks orange logo to link to a PDF or html file if the full text is not immediately available. Each database is a bit different, but a good rule of thumb is this: when you see the Uc-eLinks icon click on it to view your article access options, which can range from full text to a call number to an Interlibrary Loan request:

UC e-Links image

For more information, here's a tutorial on using UC-eLinks.

About JSTOR!

Library home > Articles > General Article Databases > JSTOR

Everyone Loves JSTOR:

  • interdisciplinary
  • scholarly
  • full text available AND searchable - you may find topics you won't find elsewhere because they're only part of an article on a related topic
  • covers journals from their earliest publication dates

CAUTIONS:

  • DOES NOT INCLUDE THE LAST 3-5 YEARS of a journal!  not good for contemporary topics!
  • doesn't include as many journals in a particular discipline as the discipline-specific database (example: MLA Bibliography for literature)
Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.