Skip to main content

AAADS 20A: Introduction to the History of Asians in the United States: "Start Your Search"

Library guide for AAADS 20 (Fall 2017) with Professor Michael Omi.

What's included

Start your Search includes books, articles and more.

Start your search is powered by EBSCO Discovery Services and combines a variety of library collections, catalogs and databases into a single search experience.

What's NOT included

Start your Search does not include everything in the Library's collections. To ensure you're finding the best possible articles on your research topic, you should search discipline-specific databases directly. 

Content that is not included in Start your Search:

Caveats
It's difficult to track precisely which databases are or are not available in Start your Search for several reasons:

  1. Many databases are not exclusively available from a single vendor. The Library subscribes to the MLA International Bibliography from ProQuest, for example, but the Bibliography is still available in Start your Search by other means.
  2. Journals that are available in one database are often also available in other databases. While we know that Compendex is not available in Start your Search, many of the journals in Compendex are available in Start your Search via other library database subscriptions.

Search Results Annotated

Start Your Search - Filters for narrowing your search

Are there filters in the left sidebar that will help you narrow your search results?  Click on the category ("language" "geography") to view the options.

Sample Searches in OskiCat

Search OskiCat for both primary and secondary sources.  Examples:

1.  keywords; broadening your search terms; finding official subject terms; limiting by language

(keywords)  mexican american* civil rights
(keywords)  indians of north america activis*


 * = truncation symbol/wildcard for variant word endings
ex:  immigra* = immigrant immigrants immigration etc.

2.  look at the titles and official subject terms and find other terms
(subject)  indians of north america civil rights
(subject)  indian activists united states
(subject)  american indian movement
Try out these OskiCat features:
  • limit your search to a type of material (DVDs) or a library location (Doe Reference) or language
  • save items to a list you can e-mail/download/print
  • place a recall request online
  • request items from storage (NRLF)
  • view a list of items you have checked out
  • send call numbers to your cell phone (see below)
  • receive alerts of new items that match your search terms ("preferred search")
Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.