Skip to main content

English 1B - Dystopian Fictions Fall 2017: "Start Your Search"

Instructor: Hollis

What's included

Start your Search includes books, articles and more.

Start your search is powered by EBSCO Discovery Services and combines a variety of library collections, catalogs and databases into a single search experience.

What's NOT included

Start your Search does not include everything in the Library's collections. To ensure you're finding the best possible articles on your research topic, you should search discipline-specific databases directly. 

Content that is not included in Start your Search:

Caveats
It's difficult to track precisely which databases are or are not available in Start your Search for several reasons:

  1. Many databases are not exclusively available from a single vendor. The Library subscribes to the MLA International Bibliography from ProQuest, for example, but the Bibliography is still available in Start your Search by other means.
  2. Journals that are available in one database are often also available in other databases. While we know that Compendex is not available in Start your Search, many of the journals in Compendex are available in Start your Search via other library database subscriptions.

Sample Searches - "Start Your Search"

1.  keyword search; phrase searching (quotes):

"woman warrior" 

need to focus the results:

"woman warrior"  maxine hong kingston

Limit To:  Scholarly (peer reviewed)

2.  subject searches

click on the titles of items and view official subject headings; click on these or search on them as appropriate:

chinese americans in literature
chinese american women writers
kingston, maxine hong - criticism and interpretation
American literature -- Asian-American authors
Asian American literature
intertextuality

 

3.  truncation/wildcard

dystopia* literature

Limit To:  Scholarly (peer reviewed)

* truncation symbol/wildcard = child* = child childs children childhood childish childlike...

Start Your Search - Filters for narrowing your search

Are there filters in the left sidebar that will help you narrow your search results?  Click on the category ("language" "geography") to view the options.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.