Skip to main content

PH 293: DrPH 2nd Year Seminar: EndNote: Find Full Text & PDFs

Glossary

OpenURL Path: is the OpenURL web address to the online library. EndNote will be directed to search for matching references.

Authentication URL: the web address to the Calnet login page, you enter a username and password. Once you enter the Authentication URL (if required), EndNote can access full text of your articles.

Proxy Server: Configure your browser with the correct URL.

FIND FULL TEXT: Add Access to Your Institution's Library

EndNote uses 4 methods to lookup full-text documents for the citations in your library; three are automatic, you need to configure the fourth.

In EndNote, open Edit > Preferences click on Find Full Text.
Enter "http://ucelinks.cdlib.org:8888/sfx_local". (uses the Off Campus Sign In - Proxy).


 

Authenticate Only:
From References menu, select Find Full Text and Authenticate. This method allows you to connect without starting a Find Full Text search. You should be directed to your institution’s login web page. Log in as indicated on the web page. Click Done.

You still need to specifically select the References > Find Full Text > Find Full Text command to begin searching for full text articles.

 

Open URL

How to Determine the OpenURL Path for UC Berkeley:
SFX link resolvers work best, look for a URL that begins with http:// sfx.library or a similar URL that contains sfx in the path.
Authenticate with field: http://ucelinks.cdlib.org:8888/sfx_local

Try these:
To Follow the URL Path:
-- Highlight a reference -- where the full text article is available from your institution.
-- Right-click on the reference and select URL > OpenURL Link.
    If you are not automatically directed to the full text article, use your browser to try to get to the full text PDF file.
 

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.