Finding Primary Sources - examples of primary source databases
To find additional databases, go the Library home page > Databases: Browse All Databases > pull down the "All Subjects" to an appropriate discipline (African American Studies, Ethnic Studies, History) and pull down the "All Database Types" menu to "Archive collections and primary sources"
Full-text of books, serials, manuscript collections as well as court records and reference materials documents related to the antebellum era.
Includes more than 1.5 million pages, 7000+ books, 80+ serials, 15 manuscript collections as well as court records and reference materials documents related to the antebellum era. Published through partnerships with the Amistad Research Center, Oberlin College, Oxford University, & many other institutions.
Primary source materials from 1490-2007 in slavery and abolition studies.
Provides a portal for slavery and abolition studies, bringing together documents and collections covering an extensive time period, between 1490 and 2007, from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. Close attention is given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social-justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today. Includes high-quality colour and greyscale images of many thousands of original manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings, maps and other documents not available elsewhere. High-quality colour and greyscale images of many thousands of original manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings, maps and other documents not available elsewhere.
Digitized archive of primary documents of key events, trends, and movements in 1960s America. Includes letters, diaries, oral histories, posters, broadsides, pamphlets, advertisements, and rare audio and video materials. [1960 - 1974]
Documents the key events, trends, and movements in 1960s America. Includes 70,000 pages of letters, diaries, and oral histories; more than 30,000 pages of posters, broadsides, pamphlets, advertisements, and rare audio and video materials. Enhanced by dozens of scholarly document projects, featuring annotated primary-source content that is analyzed and contextualized through interpretive essays by historians.
Indexing and full-text access for publications of the United States Congress such as hearings, committee reports and prints, CRS reports, as well as executive branch documents. (Congressional Publications) [dates vary]
One stop shopping for all U.S. congressional publications. Provides indexing and abstracts of congressional publications back to 1789, including the full-text of published Congressional Hearings (1824-present; unpublished hearings until 1979), Committee Prints (1817-present), Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports (1916-present), Congressional Record and its predecessor titles (1789-present), U.S. Congressional Serial Set and Maps (1789-present), Executive Branch Documents (1789-1932), Presidential Executive Orders and Presidential Proclamations (1789-present), and Legislative Histories (1969-Present; earlier legislative histories are available via ProQuest's Legislative Insight).
More Searching for Primary Sources
Primary sources can be also be found by searching Start Your Search (see tab), OskiCat (see Finding Books tab) and searching for Articles (see tab). Evaluate your search results carefully because many of these sources will retrieve both primary and secondary sources.