Online encyclopedias and dictionaries from a variety of vendors such as:
Oxford University Press
However, Search does notinclude everything in the Library's collections. To ensure you're finding the best possible articles on your research topic, you should search discipline-specific databases directly by making sure "Databases" is highlighted in the search box.
It's difficult to track precisely which databases are or are not available in Start your Search for several reasons:
Many databases are not exclusively available from a single vendor. The Library subscribes to the MLA International Bibliography from ProQuest, for example, but the Bibliography is still available in Start your Search by other means.
Journals that are available in one database are often also available in other databases. While we know that Compendex is not available in Start your Search, many of the journals in Compendex are available in Start your Search via other library database subscriptions.
UC-eLinks - Find Article Text/Location
Once you've searched a database to find articles, you may need to use to link to a PDF or html file if the full text is not immediately available. Each database is a bit different, but a good rule of thumb is this: when you see the Uc-eLinks icon click on it to view your article access options, which can range from full text to a call number to an Interlibrary Loan request:
For more information, here's a tutorial on using UC-eLinks.
Abstracts of the current literature of modern and contemporay art, photography and design. [1974 - present]
Indexes journals, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews. Coverage extends from artists and movements beginning with Impressionism in the late 19th century, up to the most recent works and trends in the late 20th century. Photography is covered from its invention in 1839 to the present.
Part of Web of Knowledge that indexes over 1,000 leading arts and humanities journals, and allows searching of citations as well as subsequent articles that cite an article. (Web of Science) [1975 - present]
Covers 750 art journals including 470 peer reviewed journals, dissertations, reviews, and over 200 books related to art and architecture topics. Includes coverage from 1929 to present, including the complete former contents of Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective databases. Some full text.
General Article Databases
Databases are collections of thousands of articles (and often book chapters, book reviews, conference proceedings, dissertations, and other items) organized by subject. The Libraries have hundreds of databases covering every academic discipline. Some are multi-disciplinary, covering a broad range of subjects and including popular and scholarly sources, and others are subject-specific, and include scholarly and specialized articles.
The following multi-disciplinary databases are good places to start your research:
Search across many disciplines and sources including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover any given field more completely). Can be used with UC-eLinks to access the full text of many articles.
Full-text access to over 1000 scholarly journals, including more than 2 million articles, from a wide range of disciplines. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR. [dates vary]
Several hundred digitized scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. [1993 - present]
Topics include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Books are available in PDF format, searchable and retrievable to the chapter level, with no restrictions on downloading or printing.
A comprehensive database covering journals, magazines, newspapers, broadcasts, books and more on all aspects of Africa including politics, history, economics, literature, music and natural sciences. (Africa-Wide NiPAD) [19th century - present]
Includes: Nordic Africa Institute Online Catalogue (NOAK); IBISCUS (1970 to 2001); School of Oriental & African Studies (SOAS) Library Catalogue: Africa; Afro-Tropical Bird Information Retrieval Database; The Campbell Collections of the University of Natal, Killie Campbell Africana Library Bibliography; International Library of African Music (ILAM); African Development Database; African Journals OnLine (AJOL); South African Databases; Witwatersrand University Management Research Reports; and more.
Citations for articles, reports, and obituaries covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. (AnthroLit - Tozzer file - Anthropological Index - Anthropological Literature) [Late 19th century - present]
Indexes journal articles, essays, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology as well as ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture. This database combines the resources of Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature.
Indexes books, journal articles, essays, conference papers, and US government documents covering 17 broad regions comprising 290 ethnic groups of native North America. [1500 - present]
Contains and updates citations from the print counterpart, Ethnographic Bibliography of North America, 1941-1990. Contains more than 80,000 citations. Includes content from the sixteenth century to the present.
"Contains bibliographies for African studies, including entries from the International African bibliography published in the years 1971 to 2015."
The International African Bibliography (IAB) is an essential resource for all those working in the field of African studies, providing a current awareness service of the latest books, articles and papers published internationally on Africa. Created in cooperation with the Centre for African Studies, University of Cape Town, South Africa
Major subjects covered include: aesthetics, metaphysics, epistemology, logic, philosophy of language, philosophy of mind, political and social philosophy, and the philosophy of disciplines such as anthropology, education, history and science. (Philosophers Index) [1940 - present]
Includes references to journal articles, books, book chapters, and book reviews published in some 550 journals.
Citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports. (Psychological Abstracts, Psychinfo) [1806 - current]
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and dissertations in psychology and enriched with literature from psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.