Skip to main content

College Writing 4B: Inequity and Change Fall 2017: "Start Your Search"

Instructor: Wald

What's Included

What's included

Start your Search includes books, articles and more.

Start your search is powered by EBSCO Discovery Services and combines a variety of library collections, catalogs and databases into a single search experience.

What's Not Included

Start your Search does not include everything in the Library's collections. To ensure you're finding the best possible articles on your research topic, you should search discipline-specific databases directly. 

Content that is not included in Start your Search:

Caveats
It's difficult to track precisely which databases are or are not available in Start your Search for several reasons:

  1. Many databases are not exclusively available from a single vendor. The Library subscribes to the MLA International Bibliography from ProQuest, for example, but the Bibliography is still available in Start your Search by other means.
  2. Journals that are available in one database are often also available in other databases. While we know that Compendex is not available in Start your Search, many of the journals in Compendex are available in Start your Search via other library database subscriptions.

Sample Searches - "Start Your Search"

1.  keywords; narrow your focus by adding another search term; variant word endings

    female* infanticide china

= truncation symbol/wildcard; child* = child, childs, children, childhood, childish...

on the left, limit to scholarly/peer reviewed articles; or limit to books, limit by language...

2.  phrase searching.  

     "mental illness"  stigma* "asian american*"

     looking through the results, you might look broaden your search:

     "mental illness"  stigma* cultur*

 

     "southeast asian*" refugee* "post trauma*"

      you might broaden your results:

        "southeast asian*" refugee* trauma*"

3.   look for official subject headings:

      ethic* CRISPR

      genome editing moral and ethical aspects (subject)

4.    advanced search

        "food desert"

         obesity or diabetes

      

Search Results Annotated

Start Your Search - Filters for Narrowing Your Search Results

Are there filters in the left sidebar that will help you narrow your search results?  Click on the category ("language" "geography") to view the options.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.