Skip to main content

Africana Microform Collections at the UC Berkeley Libraries: Home

Africana Microform Collections

African Biographical Archive

Includes three volume print guide entitled African Biographical Index. Contains around 113,000 biographical entires referring to approximatley 75,000 individuals from the time of the pharaohs to the late 20th century.  This set is a microform version of the contents of 231 works of collected biography published 1840-1993 in several western languages.  The 56 titles published prior to 1960 emphasize non-African persons who travelled in or colonized Africa.

Africa, Special Studies, 1962-1980

Includes a Guide to this microfilm collection.

Reel 1: The role of military assistance; regional arms control arrangement; and challenge and response to internal conflicts.

Reel 2: Communism in Sub-Sahara, the role of U.S. assistance programs in developing indigenous leadership in East Africa; political parties and U.S. military assistance to Africa; and the Agency for International Development (AID) Economic Data Book for Africa.

Reel 3: Mining and petroleum laws of the world; Africa; civil-military relations in Nigeria, Zaire (DR Congo), and Ethiopia adn their impace on U.S. national security interests; the Organization of African Unity and peacekeeping; mineral industries of Africa; Sino-Soviet involvement in Africa; U.S. security interests and options in Central Africa; Black Africa as a source of essential materials for the U.S.; and the Sahel Development Program.

Reel 4: Military sales and the increasing U.S. role in Africa; seaport dependence and interstate cooperation; congressional presentation for fiscal year 1981; insurgency and revolutionary warfare in Algeria (1954-1962).

Reel 5: Aid spring review and land reform in Algeria, Tunisia, and the United Arab Republic; the Soviet Union and Angola; psychological phenomena (such as witchcraft, sorcery, and others) on military operations and the U.N. peacekeeping in the Congo (1960-1964).

Reel 6: Effect of Haile Selassie's death on U.S. foreign policy in East Africa; Eritrea and the Soviet-Cuban connection; historical patterns oand the Soviet Policy in the Horn of Africa; impact of population assistance and the role of science and technology in the economic development of Ghana; Army Roles Missions and Doctrines in Low Intensity Conflict (ARMLIC) in Kenya; aid spring review of land reform in Kenya and Nigeria.

Reel 7: Insurgency for the Kenya police; Kenya's relations with its bordering states; the Maltese-Libyan entente in the Mediterranean Basin; Namibia in 1979 as another Angola; civil-military relations in Nigeria and Tanzania; a study of Rhodesia; economic development of South Africa; Black South Africans and apartheid.

Africans in the New World, 1493-1834

Includes a Guide to this microfilm collection. From the John Carter Brown Library at Brown University.  This project serves as an introduction to the history of Africans in the Americas, from the first direct shipment of slaves across the Atlantic in 1518, to the last known shipment to Cuba in 1864. It presents a variety of perspectives, including those of slave merchants, plantation owners, merchants, ship captains, slaves and abolitionists.

Cameroon Miscellaneous Documents

Includes 2 reels.

Cape of Good Hope (South Africa). Colonial Secretary's Dept. Statistical Branch. Statistical Register of the Colony of the Cape of Good Hope.

Cape Town.  Includes 47 reels.

Church Missionary Society Archive

Includes a Guide to this collection.  The collection contains 505 reels divided into 24 parts.

Part 1: West Africa (Sierra Leone), 1803-1880. 27 reels.

Part 2: West Africa (Sierra Leone), 1820-1880. 18 reels.

Part 3: Nigeria-Yoruba, 1844-1880. 17 reels.

Part 4: Nigeria-Yoruba, 1844-1880. 17 reels.

Part 5: West Africa (Sierra Leone), 1820-1880. 17 reels.

Part 6: Nigeria-Niger, 1857-1882. 12 reels.

Part 7: Sudan, 1905-1949. 21 reels.

Part 8: Nigeria-Yoruba, 1880-1934. 23 reels.

Part 9: Nigeria-Yoruba, 1880-1934. 23 reels.

Part 10: Nigeria-Niger, 1881-1934. 36 reels.

Part 11: Nigeria-Niger, 1880-1934 and Nigeria-Northern Nigeria. 20 reels.

Part 12: West Africa (Sierra Leone), 1881-1934. 26 reels.

Part 13: West Africa (Sierra Leone), 1935-1949 and Nigeria Missions, 1935-1942. 32 reels.

Part 14: Egypt, 1889-1934.  17 reels.

Part 15: Egypt, 1889-1949. 14 reels.

Part 16: South Africa, 1836-1843, Kenya, 1841-1888 and Nyanza, 1876-1882. 28 reels.

Part 17: Kenya, 1880-1934. 29 reels.

Part 18: Kenya, 1880-1934. 29 reels.

Part 19: Tanganyika, 1900-1934, Nyanza, 1880-1886 and Rwanda, 1933-1934, 13 reels.

Part 20: Uganda, 1898-1934. 17 reels.

Part 21: South and East Africa, 1935-1949. 29 reels.

Part 22: Uganda. 22 reels.

Part 23: Uganda, Tanganyika and Rwanda, 1935-1949. 25 reels.

Part 24: Mauritius, Madagascar, and the Seychelles, 1856-1929.  20 reels.

 

CIA Research Reports. Africa, 1946-1976

Includes a Guide to this collection. The collection includes 3 reels.

Colonial Discourses

Includes a Guide to this collection linked to microfilm record.  Entire collection includes 76 reels.

Part 1 (reels 1-25): Early travel, accounts by women, and women's experiences in India, Africa, Australasia, and Canada.

Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files: Congo, 1960 - January 1963: Internal Affairs and Foreign Affairs

Collection complete in 40 reels.

Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files: South Africa: Internal Affairs and Foreign Affairs

Includes a Guide to the collection.  The collection includes 68 reels.

Part 1: 1945-1949, Internal affairs and foreign affairs (14 reels)

Part 2: 1950-1954, Internal affairs and foreign affairs (23 reels)

Part 3: 1955-1959, Internal affairs and foreign affairs (14 reels)

Part 4: 1960-Jan 1963, (17 reels)

Despatches from United States Ministers to Liberia, 1863-1906

Includes 14 reels. Includes register and despatches from U.S. ministers to Liberia.

Great Britain. Colonial Office. Library. East African Pamphlet Collection.

Includes print Index to this collection. Entire collection includes 14 reels. Content contains newspaper clippings, articles, pamphlets, and publications of the African colonial government, 1893-1949.

International Congress of Africanists (3rd: 1973: Addis Ababa). Papers Submitted to the International Congress of Africanists, 3rd Session, December 9-19, 1973, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.

Collection contains 3 reels.  Located in the Anthropology Library.

International Population Census Publications

Find using Call number MICROFILM 19120.  Includes collections for more than 49 African countries with collection in alphabetical order.  Some reels contain more than one country's census.  Mostly 20th century census with some countries including 19th century census counts as well.

Maryland State Colonization Society.  Papers, 1817-1902

Includes a Guide to this collection.  31 reels are included in the collection.

Presbyterian Church in the U.S.A. Board of Foreign Missions. Presbyterian Board of Foreign Missions, 1833-1911. Calendar.

Includes a Guide to this collection. Microfilm set is housed in remote storage at SRLF and avaiable by request.

Rhodes Family. The Rhodes House Anti-Slavery Papers: Material Relating to America from the Anti-Slavery Collection in Rhodes House, Oxford; Mainly 1839-1868.

Collection contains 2 reels.

South Africa. Bureau of Census and Statistics. Uniestatistieke oor Vyftig Jaar = Union Statistics for Fifty Years. Jubilemuitgawe, Jubilee Issue, 1910-1960.

Collection contains 5 microfiches.

South Africa: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1962-1989

Includes a print Guide in 2 volumes to this collection. Contains 439 microfiche. Provides a record of changing U.S. responses to historical events in South Africa. Comprises 2,594 documents totaling 13,000 pages.

The Trial of Rolf Steiner, Khartoum, August-September, 1971.

Collection comprises 1 reel.

United States. Consulate (Mahe, Seychelles). Despatches from United States Consuls in Mahe, Seychelles Islands, Indian Ocean, 1868-1888.

Includes a Guide for this collection.  The collection contains 1 reel.

United States. Dept. of the Interior. Records Relating to the Suppression of the African Slave Trade and to Negro Colonization, 1854-1872.

Includes a Guide to this collection.  The collection includes 10 reels.

United States. Dept. of State. Despatches from United States Consuls in Algiers.

Collection contains 11 reels.

United States. Dept. of State. Despatches from United States Consuls in Monrovia.

The collection includes 7 reels including a guide as part of the collection. Communications over a wide range of economic and social issues, especially those related to the eradication of the African slave trade and to various colonization projects.

United States. Dept. of State. Despatches from United States Consuls in St. Helena, British West Africa, 1831-1906.

Collection contains 20 reels.

United States. Dept. of State. Despatches from United States Consuls in Tetuan, Morocco, 1877-1888.

Collection contains 1 reel.

United States. Dept. of State. Despatches from United States Consuls in Tripoli, Libya, 1796-1885.

Collection contains 7 reels.

United States. Dept. of State. Notes from the Department of State to Foreign Ministers and Consuls in the United States, 1793-1834.

Collection contains 5 reels.

United States. Dept. of State. Notes from the Tunisian Legation in teh U.S. to the Dept. of State.

Collection contains 1 reel.

United States. Dept. of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of British Africa, 1910-29.

Collection contains 33 reels.

United States. Dept. of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Ethiopia (Abyssinia), 1910-29.

Includes a Guide for this collection. 4 reels are included in the collection.

United States. Dept. of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Egypt, 1930-1939.

Includes a Guide for this collection. 23 reels comprise the collection.

United States. Dept. of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between Egypt and Other States,

Includes a Guide for this collection. 1 reel comprises the collection.

United States. Dept. of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between Morocco and Other States, 1910-29.

Includes a Guide for this collection. The collection has 1 reel.

United States. Dept. of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between the United States and Ethiopia (Abyssinia), 1910-29.

Includes a Guide for this collection. One reel comprises the collection. Mostly instructions to and despatches with a few enclosures from diplomatic and consular officials.  Also, includes memoranda by the Department of State officials and correspondence with private individuals.

United States. Dept. of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between the United States and Morocco, 1910-29.

Collection contains 1 reel.

University of London. Institute of Commonwealth Studies. Twentieth Century Political Ephemera from the Institute of Commonwealth Studies, University of London. Phase I, Africa. Part 1, South Africa.

Includes a Guide for this collection. 189 microfiche comprise the collection.

Yoruba Collection of William and Berta Bascom: Univ. of Calif., Berkeley.

Inclues a print Guide for this collection. The collection contains 711 microfiche.

 

Additional Materials in Microform:

The Cooperative Africana Materials Project

Berkeley is a member of The Cooperative Africana Materials Project (CAMP) founded in 1963, a joint effort by research libraries throughout the world and the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) to promote the preservation of publications and archives concerning the nations of Sub-Saharan Africa and to make these materials in microform available to researchers. UC Berkeley current affiliates have interlibrary borrowing privileges to these substantial holdings.

 

Subject Guide

Lynn Jones
Contact:
218 Doe Library
510 768 7643
Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.