Skip to main content
HathiTrust (Hathi is pronounced hah-tee) is a partnership of libraries that works towards the goal of developing a shared digital access, preservation, and storage solution for the materials held in the member libraries. The contents of HathiTrust are similar to that of Google Books, but the collecting focus is on scholarly materials and the resource includes content and features (such as indexing and manipulation of results) not available in Google Books.
- To limit to full view (public domain materials) in your search, check the full view only box.
- From the full view of any item, click on Download whole book (PDF).
- Click login.
- Choose the University of California, Berkeley from the drop down list and click login.
- Enter your CalNet ID and passphrase.
- Click Download whole book (PDF).
- PDF will load and you will choose to either open it or save it.
Tips for searching HathiTrust:
- Phrase Searching: Use quotes to search an exact phrase: e.g., "occult fiction"
- Wildcards: Use * or ? to search for alternate forms of a word. Use * to stand for several characters, and ? for a single character: e.g., optim* will find optimal, optimize or optimum; wom?n will find woman and women.
- Boolean Searching: Use AND and OR between words to combine them with Boolean logic: e.g., (heart OR cardiac) AND surgery will find items about heart surgery or cardiac surgery.
Tips for doing a full-text search:
- Phrase Searching: Use quotes to search an exact phrase: e.g., "occult fiction."
- Multiple Term Searching: When your search terms are not quoted phrases, avoid common words (such as: a, and, of, the) to speed up your search.
- Boolean Searching: Use AND and OR between words to combine them with Boolean logic: e.g., heart OR cardiac will find items containing the word heart or the word cardiac; heart AND cardiac will find items containing both words. Use a minus (-) to remove words from the result e.g., heart -cardiac will find items containing the word heart that do not include the word cardiac.
- On the Collections page, click on login.
- Choose the University of California, Berkeley from the drop down list and click on login.
- Enter your CalNet ID and passphrase.
- Click on Create a New Collection and name your collection (the description is optional).
- Indicate whether it is a Private or Public collection.
- Click on Add.
In the future if you want to edit, change the private/public setting, or delete the collection, your collections will always be listed in the My Collections tab whenever you are logged in to HathiTrust.
Why use Google Books? Library catalogs (like OskiCat) don't search inside books; using a library catalog, you can search only information about the book (title, author, Library of Congress subject headings, etc.). Google Books will let you search inside books, which can be very useful for hard-to-find information. You can then use Google Books' Find in a Library link to locate the book in a UC Berkeley library, or search OskiCat to see if UC Berkeley owns the book.Try it now:
Find Dissertations by searching Dissertations and Theses (Dissertation Abstracts) which indexes graduate dissertations from over 1,000 North American, and selected European, graduate schools and universities from 1861 to the present. Dissertations published since 1980 include brief abstracts written by the authors and some feature 24-page excerpts. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and some full text coverage for older graduate works.
Dissertations completed at UC Berkeley can be found in OskiCat, using the feature allowing you to limit to dissertations/theses:
Older dissertations not available full text may be obtained through Interlibrary Loan or using the Request option in Melvyl.
Resources for finding additional non-US dissertations include:
Center for Research Libraries Dissertation Collection
Choose the Dissertations tab. CRL has catalog records for over 800,000 foreign doctoral dissertations. These can be borrowed through interlibrary loan. Some of them have been digitized.
More information about CRL’s dissertation collection can be found in the Dissertation Topic Guide at http://www.crl.edu/collections/topics/dissertations. Patrons from CRL libraries may request that CRL purchase a dissertation if it meets certain criteria. See: http://www.crl.edu/collections/collection-building/cooperative-resource-development/demand-purchase