Call Number: JK54 .A64 2006 Doe Reference Reference Hall
Publication Date: 2006
Locating Primary Sources using the catalog
There are many access points to the vast collections of primary sources available to you.
Certain words and phrases will find primary sources in library catalogs. You can use these in OskiCat or Melvyl:
-early works to 1800
-caricatures and cartoons
-songs and music
A newspaper digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for significant newspapers dating back to the 18th Century. Every issue of each title includes the complete paper-cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images. (New York Times - San Francisco Chronicle - Wall Street Journal - Washington Post - Chicago Defender - Chicago Tribune - Los Angeles Times - ProQuest Historical Newspapers) [1849 - 2003]
A newspaper digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for significant US newspapers. Our subscription includes access to Chicago Defender (1910-1975); Chicago Tribune (1849-1990); Los Angeles Times (1881-1990); The New York Times (1851-2010) with Index (1851-1993); San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922); The Wall Street Journal (1889-1996); and The Washington Post (1877-1997). Proquest Historical Newspapers
Provides access to over 50,000 unique manuscripts on American History from 1493-1945.
Many of the manuscripts include translations and transcriptions. Collections are from the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History, New York. Module 1 Settlement, Commerce, Revolution and Reform: 1493-1859 is available now and Module 2 Civil War, Reconstruction and the Modern Era: 1860-1945 will be published in Summer 2015.
Search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published from 1690-present.
To date, over 200,000 pages of California newspapers have been digitized. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).