In this major A-Z work, 'early cinema' refers to the first 20 or 25 years of the cinema's emergence at the end of the nineteenth and beginning of the twentieth centuries, from the early 1890s to the middle 1910s. Coverage of the pre-cinema period is also given in order to describe not only the apparatus, and its inventors, on the basis of which cinema would develop, but also those mass-cultural forms and practices within which cinema was to emerge. The Encyclopedia presents information on the basic trajectory of early cinema history, with coverage of film production, filmmakers, film genres, and individual films, but in addition a major task of the work is to present information from the revisionist history of early cinema, with its focus on the changing nature of film exhibition and the changing patterns of reception. The Encyclopedia reveals that early cinema was inextricably bound up with other forms and practices of mass culture, that it emerged as a combination of existing and innovative elements, and that it was an unusually hybrid medium that only gradually coalesced into something more or less distinct. Consultant editors: Stephen Bottomore, UK; Donald Crafton, University o
Resource of American film information, covers the history of American cinema. (American Film Institute)
Provides authoritative film credit and production information for American films made from 1893 to 1972. Also includes selective citations to trade and review publications for the individual films indexed in the database.
Indexes world's foremost academic and popular film journals from 1972 to the present date. Also includes the database "Treasures from the Film Archives" contains unique information about silent-era film holdings in international film archives. It was conceived as a tool to aid the work of preservation, research and film exchange between archives, and provides filmographic and holdings information on over 60,000 works. Included are silent shorts and features, fiction and non-fiction, from 110 of the world's major film archives. Users must be aware that the inclusion of a title in this database does not indicate whether the material is complete, nor does it guarantee access to that material.
Indexes scholarly and popular journals, books, book reviews, and proceedings worldwide on a wide range of topics within the fields of film and television studies. Includes complete data from all volumes of the Index to Film Periodicals, Treasures from Film Archives, Documentation Collections, and FIAF Affiliates' Publications.