Skip to main content

Caribbean Studies: Home

A guide for those interested in the literature, culture, society and history of the Caribbean.

Welcome!

Havana, Cuba [Courtesy of Alex Rojas at Pixabay]

Collections Overview

The Caribbean Studies collection covers materials related to the Caribbean Islands. This includes the countries of Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, the Bahamas, Barbados, Bonaire, the British Virgin Islands, the Cayman Islands, Cuba, Curacao, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Haiti, Jamaica, Martinique, Montserrat, Puerto Rico, Saba, Saint Barthélemy, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Martin, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos, and the US Virgin Islands.     

The majority of the collection can be found in the Main (Gardner) Stacks, as well as in the over 20 subject specialty libraries and affiliated libraries.  

You can follow the Latin American Studies Collections blog to stay up date on new titles, events, and other exciting collection news!

Off-campus Access to Library Resources

There are two ways to connect to library resources from off-campus using the new library proxy:

  1. Links to online resources on library websites, such as OskiCat, will allow you to login with CalNet directly.
  2. To access library resources found via non-UCB sites, such as Google or Google Scholar, you can add the EZProxy bookmarklet to your browser. Then, whenever you land on a licensed library resource, select your EZproxy bookmarklet to enable CalNet login.

More information is on the EZproxy guide.

The campus VPN provides an alternate method for off-campus access.

The Region

[Courtesy: Wikimedia]

Images from the region.

Here are some images

Interlibrary Loan and Purchase Recommendation

If there is a title needed for your research but not available at UC Berkeley, consider using Interlibrary Borrowing Services. UC Berkeley students, faculty, and staff can request materials from peer institutions through Melvyl or the Interlibrary Services office (133 Doe). 

Is there a title that you think should be part of the collection? You can fill out the library's Purchase Recommendation form to submit your suggestion!

Subject Guide

Liladhar R. Pendse's picture
Liladhar R. Pendse
Contact:
510-768-7610
lpendse (at) library (dot) berkeley (dot) edu
Website

Books from Catalog

Copyright © 2014-2019 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.