Search an article database to find citations (title, author, title of journal, date, page numbers) for articles on a particular topic. The Library gives you access to over 200 article databases covering different disciplines.
1. Think about which academic disciplines might write about your topic. Examples: literature, film, anthropology, history...
2. Find the appropriate article database by subject (academic discipline or department). Look for "Recommended" databases.
Library home > click on Databases, then click on: Browse Databases.
Pull down the "All Subjects" menu to browse a list of databases by academic discipline, and/or pull down the "All Database Types" to browse lists by type of database (article databases, statistical databases, image databases, etc.).
Bibliography of Asian Studies (NOTE: already included in "Start Your Search" but sometimes easier to search by itself)
Library home > click on Databases > click on Browse all databases > pull down the All Subjects menu > East Asian Studies > Bibliography of Asian Studies
JSTOR (all subjects; included in "Start Your Search" but sometimes worth searching separately)
REMEMBER: JSTOR doesn't include articles from the last 3-5 years!!!
Library home > click on Databases > click on Browse all databases > pull down the All Subjects menu > History; pull down "All database types" to Articles > JSTOR
1. confucius (full text)
law or legal (full text)
add a field
china (full text)
results are rather broad and the terms can be pages away from one another. Would you like to be able to specify that the terms appear within a few words of one another?
confucius (full text)
(near 25) law (full text)
(near 25) china (full text)
note: you can't use more than one term per row when you use "near 25" so you can't do "near25" law or legal...sorry!
another search example:
Please note that you will have to distinguish between book reviews BY Professor Nylan and book reviews of books written by Professor Nylan
Book Review Digest Plus
Library home > Articles > Book and Film Review Databases > Book Review Digest Plus
nylan, michael (subject)
if you search Prof. Nylan as an author you'll find book reviews written by her. If you search her as a subject you'll find book reviews about her books
Once you've searched an index to find articles, you may need to use UC-eLinks to link to a PDF or html file if the full text is not immediately available. Each database is a bit different, but a good rule of thumb is this: when you see the UC-eLinks icon, click on it to view your article access options, which can range from full text to a call number to an Interlibrary Loan request:
For more information, here's a tutorial on using UC-eLinks.