Skip to main content

Library Resources For IGS Community: Data Resources

Data Lab in Doe Library

The Data Lab, located in Doe Annex 189 (floor plan), provides access to a growing collection of electronic data files and analytical software such as MS Excel, SAS, SPSS, Stata, MatLab, R, and python.

The Library Data Lab staff can help you locate, retrieve, and use numeric data. Please schedule an appointment with us to discuss your data needs or visit during regularly scheduled times when staff are present in the lab. Check the hours page for more information.

Remote access to research tools is also available. The campus-supported Citrix service provides access to research tools that are costly or difficult to setup on local machines. ​Stata and SPSS are currently supported --  Stata has licenses for 20 concurrent users and SPSS has licenses for 40 concurrent users.

Data Acquisition and Access Program

The Data Acquisition and Access Program provides a method for UC Berkeley faculty, students and staff to get access to data (numeric or textual) that requires purchase, licensing or is otherwise restricted. The program has an open call for faculty, students and staff to submit requests for data.

See the DAPA information page and the Purchase Request Form for more details. 

UC Data Center

The UC Data Center (350 Barrows) is UC Berkeley's principal archive of digitized social science data and statistics.

Services and resources include:

D-Lab

D-Lab helps Berkeley offers faculty, staff, and graduate students in-depth consulting and advising regarding research design, data analysis, data management, and related techniques and technologies. All training and consulting is free for the UC community.

D-Lab - 350 Barrows Hall

Statewide Database

Statewide Database is the redistricting database for the state of California.

Services and resources include:

 

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.