Skip to main content

CA.gov Web Archive Metadata Sprint: Home

--

CA.gov Web Archive Metadata Sprint

An asynchronous crowdsourced project to enhance the archive of California government documents.

December 5, 12-1pm (PST): Online training session

View the webinar recording.

December 6-13: Metadata Sprint

Work at your own pace over the week. Plan to spend 1-2 hours on your batch of metadata.
Interested volunteers are welcome to continue with the project, assigning and cleaning up metadata after completing your batch. Just let us know!
.

Goal

Help us enrich descriptive metadata for the CA.gov collection in the Internet Archive to make the archive easier to use. Each sprinter works on metadata for a small subset of archived websites. We will provide tutorials, reference materials, and lots of support.

Who is the event open to?

Any library or archives staff (including paraprofessionals, iSchool students) with an interest in improving findability and usability of archived California government websites.

How can I participate?

  1. Sign up here: http://bit.ly/2Bhk5sT.
  2. Attend the training on Tuesday December 5th, 12-1pm PST.
  3. Edit on your own and submit your work.

Do I need to be a cataloger or a web expert to do this?

Nope! We'll teach you.

What do I edit?

We'll provide you with a short list of archived sites and instructions about how to review the metadata

  • Plan to spend 1-2 hours over the course of a week to complete your set.

  • There are 7 fields that need to be checked or assigned for each URL, and not all are required.

  • You don't need to be a cataloger or have special web skills to do it.

What's in it for me?

  • Bragging rights: You're helping make archived California government websites easier to find!

  • Skill-building: Learn about web archives; hone library & archive skills.

  • Familiarize yourself with the collection: Discover the world of California gov docs!

Resources

Guidelines for Enhancing Descriptive Metadata for the CA.gov Collection

About the CA.gov Archive

The CA.gov web archive preserves access to hundreds of California state agency sites, and includes everything from press releases, agendas, minutes, events, reports and statistics. This material is especially volatile as leadership changes or as time-sensitive issues are no longer on agendas or in the news. The archive is maintained by government information specialists and web curators across several UC campuses, the Stanford University Libraries, the California State Library, and the California State Archives.

Questions?

Contact us: ca-gov-metadata-sprint@lists.berkeley.edu

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.