Skip to main content

California Landscape Architecture & Gardens: Search for Resources

California Landscape Architecture and Gardens is a selective bibliographic research guide to UC Berkeley library and web resources on the history of California landscape architecture.

Search Terms

Here is a selection of catalog subject headings that may be useful in finding books on California landscape architecture and gardens through the Library's catalogs. These terms can all be modified by place name, e.g., Landscape architecture--California--San Francisco Bay Area Guidebooks to cities may have sections on parks and public gardens, so check subject headings such as Berkeley, Calif.--Description and travel or Architecture--San Diego--Guidebooks.

[name of site
Amusement parks 
Cemeteries 
Gardens--California--History 
Hillside landscape architecture 
Landscape architects--Biography 
Landscape architects--[place name] 
Landscape architecture-- [place name]
Landscape design 
Landscape gardening 
Parks--[place name]--Guidebooks 
Playgrounds 
Rose gardens 
Theater, open-air 
Urban landscape architecture 
Water in landscape architecture

Web Searches

To find websites for a specific site or individual:

  • Do a 'phrase search' using a Web search engine such as Google or Yahoo!, e.g.,"golden gate park," "hargreaves associates," or "beatrix farrand".
  • Visit the gateway sites listed in the guide Landscape Architecture Resources.
  • Note the web links throughout this guide.
  • The Invisible Web What is it? Click and find out!

Finding Articles

Use journal and newspaper indexes and databases to discover articles on your topic. Some online databases include the full text of the articles you discover or the  UC eLinks button image  icon which may lead you to the full text elsewhere. In many cases, however, you will need to locate the print journal in the Library's collections; search the Library's catalogs by the journal title in order to find the shelving location and call number for the journal.

Use journal article indexes and databases to locate articles on your topic; additional indexes are listed in Landscape Architecture Indexes & Abstracts. For UC Only or UCB Only titles, go to The Library's home page→ Find → Articles

Journals

The following journals share a focus on California, with an emphasis on history, gardening, or the built environment. 

Newspaper Articles

For UC Only or UCB Only titles and for additional full-text newspapers on the Web, go to The Library's home page→ Find Information→ ArticlesNews article databases

Finding Images

This section lists sources for different types of images, including photographs, plans, drawings, and plat maps. For a more complete list of visual resources see Images database list. In addition to the books and other sources already listed, landscape images and plans may be found in specialized books and on the Web. The archives listed in this guide are also potentially great sources for images.

START HERE→ Image sources for the built environment (UC Berkeley, Library) A selected annotated bibliography of Web sites, databases, books, and other sources of views, plans, maps, plat maps, elevations, etc., of important buildings and sites

Bibliographies

Bibliographies may also be found in books and journal articles, at the ends of encyclopedia entries, and on the Web.

Bibliographic research guides: Use these guides to find additional research strategies and resources.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.