Balboa Park (San Diego) | Designers: Kate Sessions & Samuel Parsons
- Balboa Park: a millennium history, by Roger M. Showley. Carlsbad, CA: Heritage Media Corp., 1999.
- Balboa Park, San Diego, California: a comprehensive guide to the city's cultural and recreational center, compiled and written by the Southern California Writers' Project of the Work Project Administration. San Diego: Association of Balboa Park Institutions, 1941.
- San Diego's city park, 1868-1902 an early debate on environment and profit, by Gregory E. Montes, IN: The Journal of San Diego history, v.23:2, spring 1977.
- Berkeley inside/out: a guide to restaurants, entertainment, people and politics, by Don Pitcher, Berkeley: Heyday Books, 1989. Includes a chapter on city parks.
- Berkeley park use study: a working report to guide the acquisition & development of new parklands, by Gary Mason, Alex Forrester & Robin Hermann in consultation with Clare Cooper Marcus. [Berkeley?: s.n. ], 1975.
- Berkeley parks and recreation, IN: Berkeley facts. Berkeley: Planning Dept., 1981, pp.24-29. Includes a list of 47 parks and their acreage, and a map of park locations.
- Building a people's park, by Sim Van der Ryn. 1969. Photocopy of typescript.
- A History of Berkeley's Live Oak Park, comp. for Friends of Live Oak by Susan Schwartz. [Berkeley, CA]: The Friends, 1994.
- [Parks and playgrounds], Charles Keeler, Chairman, Subcommittee on Parks and Playgrounds. February 11, 1925. 12 pp. IN: Survey of the city's needs for the next ten years, by Committee of Sixteen. [Berkeley: The Committee, 1925].
- Why can't we make "People's Park" into a real park?, the Community Campus Coalition for People's Park. [Berkeley, CA: The Coalition, 1985].
Berkeley Rose Garden | Designers: Vernon M. Dean (landscape architect), Bernard Maybeck (architect), Charles Vernon Covell (rosarian) Note: Also known as Berkeley Municipal Rose Garden or Codornices Rose Garden.
- Berkeley Recreation Department. Annual report. The Annual Report of the Berkeley Recreation Department reports on the creation, development, and maintenance of what we now call the Berkeley Rose Garden. In particular, the reports for 1933/34 through 1938/39 contain interesting images of the Rose Garden including a few drawings, some to scale; black-and-white photographs; and, a scale plan.
- V.M. Dean drawing of the amphitheater; no arbor; includes pool.
- Scale plan of "Tennis Courts & Rose Garden at Codornices Park Begun Under C.W.A.
- Scale drawing, 15 February 1935, V.M. Dean: "A Landscape Plan for Codornices Park;" includes a small elevation of a pergola and "Memorial Fountain"
- Elevation of Rose Garden, p.23
- Description of rose varieties and planting plan, pp.22-24.
- Berkeley Municipal Rose Garden, by Susan Dinkelspiel Cerny. IN: Berkeley landmarks: an illustrated guide to Berkeley, California's architectural heritage. Rev. & enlarged ed. Berkeley: Berkeley Architectural Heritage Association, 2001, p.266. Includes black and white photograph of the garden under construction. Online version (Berkeley Daily Planet).
- Municipal rose garden (Berkeley Architectural Heritage Association) Brief history of the garden.
Blake Garden (Kensington) | Designer: Beatrix Jones Farrand | Archives: 1927 planting plans for the UC President's House
- Blake estate oral history project: interviews, by Suzanne B. Riess, Berkeley, CA: Regional Oral History Office, Bancroft Library, Univ. of California, 1988.
- Preliminary long-range development plan for the Blake estate, by Geraldine Knight Scott. Department of Landscape Architecture, Univ. of California, Berkeley, 1964.
- Return to glory: classical grandeur on an intimate scale is achieved at this Italianate mansion and estate in Berkeley, California, by Lawrence Lee. Garden design, Summer 1986, v.5:2, p. [56-65].
Crissy Field (San Francisco) | Designers: Hargreaves Associates
- Crissy Field tidal basin project collection, 1869-2000 bulk 1996-2000. Collection of reports, maps, photographs, etc., documenting a tidal wetland restoration project and related shoreline design elements. Online finding aid describes the collection.
- Field of vision: San Francisco's pioneering arifield balances diverse uses and a complex past, by Katherine Melcher. IN: Landscape architecture (Aug 2003), v.93:8, pp.68-75, 100-103. Includes aerial photos, drawings, site plans.
- The Transformation of Crissy Field, by Arlene Gemmil. IN: California Coast & Ocean (Summer 2000), v.16:2, pp.6-13. Includes photos and plan.
Filoli (Woodside) | Designers: Bruce Porter and Lurline B. Roth
Forest Lawn Memorial Parks (Glendale & Hollywood Hills)
Golden Gate Park (San Francisco) | Designers: William Hammond Hall and John McLaren; plan by F.L. Olmsted never implemented.
- The Development of Golden Gate Park: and particularly the management and thinning of its forest tree plantations. A statement from the Board of Park Commissioners, together with reports from Messrs. Wm. Ham. Hall... Fred. Law Olmsted... and John McLaren. San Francisco: Bacon & Co., 1886.
- Enchanted garden, by Jean L. Rossi. IN: Pacific historian, v.13:1, 1969, pp.8-13. Relates the history of the Japanese Tea Garden in Golden Gate Park.
- Golden Gate Park master plan: draft, prepared by Royston Hanamoto Alley & Abey with DKS Associates. San Francisco: San Francisco Recreation and Park Dept., .
- The Making of Golden Gate Park--the early years, 1865-1906, by Raymond H. Clary. San Francisco: California Living Books, 1980.
- San Francisco's Golden Gate Park: a thousand and seventeen acres of stories, by Christopher Pollock. Portland, OR: WestWinds Pr., 2001. Describes the features of Golden Gate Park. Illustrated.
Griffith Park (Los Angeles)
Mountain View Cemetery (Oakland) | Designer: Frederick Law Olmsted | Archives
- By-laws and rules of Mountain View Cemetery Association, with preface and appendix. Oakland: Mountain View Cemetery Association, 1873. Note: Oakland miscellany. v. 3, no. 2.
- A California cemetery, by Charles Howard Shinn, IN: Garden and forest, v.4:167, May 6, 1891, pp.206-207. A short article reflecting the author's on-site observations.
- Mountain View Cemetery. Oakland, CA: Mountain View Cemetery Association, 1996. Folded plan of the cemetery.
- Mountain View Cemetery: history is all around us, by Dennis Evanosky. Alameda, CA: tellar Media Group, Inc., 2007. Folded plan of the cemetery.
- Mountain View: nature and culture in an American park cemetery, by Gunther Barth. IN: The Mirror of history: essays in honor of Fritz Fellner, edited by Solomon Wank, et al. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1988, pp. 153-169.
- Organization of Mountain View Cemetery Association, Oakland, California; officers of the corporation, rules, regulations, and by-laws, including a preface to the plan, by Frederick Law Olmsted. San Francisco: Mountain View Cemetery Association; printed by M.D. Carr & Company, 1865. Note: Oakland miscellany, v. 3, no. 1 and Willey collection, v. 4, no. 11.
- The Park cemetery: its westward migration, by Gunther Barth. IN: Chapter 2, American public architecture: European roots and native expressions, Craig Zabel and Susan Scott Munshower, eds. University Park, PA: Pennsylvania State Univ., 1989, pp. -81. Includes many black and white photographs of Mountain View Cemetery.
- Report of Mr. Olmsted [to Major R.W. Kirkham, on proposed Mountain View Cemetery], by Frederick Law Olmsted. [1865?]
Ruth Bancroft Garden (Walnut Creek) | Designer: Ruth Bancroft
The garden was the first in the U.S. to be sponsored by The Garden Conservancy.
The Sea Ranch (Sonoma County) | Designer: Lawrence Halprin
- Dream of the Sea Ranch [videorecording], producer, director, writer, camerawoman, and ed., Zara Muren. San Anselmo, CA: Zara Muren, 1994. 1 videocassette (56 min. ) Includes an interview with Lawrence Halprin.
- The Sea Ranch, by Donlyn Lyndon, Jim Alinder; essays by Donald Canty and Lawrence Halprin. NY: Princeton Architectural Pr., 2004. Beautifully illustrated with photographs and plans.
- Sea Ranch, by Donald Canty. IN: Progressive architecture, v.74:2, 1993, pp.84-91. Includes photographs and site plans.
- The Sea Ranch [bibliography], by Kathryn M. Wayne and John V. Maciuika. [Chicago, IL] Council of Planning Librarians, 1994.
- The Sea Ranch: diary of an idea, by Lawrence Halprin. [California]: Comet Sudios, 1995.
University of California, Berkeley, Campus | Designers: Thomas Church, Lawrence Halprin, others | Archives (1959-1969)
For a concise overview of the history of campus plans and planning at UC Berkeley, see the Introduction of Harvey Helfand's University of California, Berkeley: an architectural tour and photographs.
- Landscape, open space, circulation, and parking, Task force report. Russell A. Beatty, Task force chair. November 1982, 97 pp. IN: University of California, Berkeley. Buildings and Campus Development Committee. The Berkeley Campus Space Plan. v.3:7, Berkeley: Univ. of California, 1981.
- Landscape heritage plan, University of California, Berkeley. [Berkeley]: Univ. of California, Berkeley, Capital Projects/Facilities Services, 
- Landscape master plan, University of California, Berkeley, by Thomas Dolliver Church & Associates. [San Francisco, CA]: The Associates, .
- Landscape master plan, University of California, Berkeley. [Berkeley]: University of California, Berkeley, Facilities Services, 2004.
- Management plan for Strawberry and Claremont Canyons, prepared by Joe McBride; revised by Russell A. Beatty. 1979.
- Scattering of buildings softened by landscape: University of California's Berkeley campus. IN: Architecture, v.74 (Dec. 1985), pp.72-81.
- Trees of the Berkeley campus, [prepared by Robert A. Cockrell with the assistance of Frederick F. Warnke]. Rev. [Berkeley]: Div. of Agricultural Sciences, Univ. of California, 1976.