Library Guides: Chemistry and Chemical Engineering: Articles

Find articles by topic, author, and other fields

Use databases to search for articles by topic, author, and many other fields.

In your results, click on the Get it at UC or Full Text buttons to check for electronic access to the article.

Key databases

SciFinderⁿ This link opens in a new window
Search the world's most comprehensive source of references, substances, and reactions in chemistry and related sciences.
Note: Restricted to UC Berkeley students, faculty, and staff. Requires creation of a personal account from an @berkeley.edu email address.
Indexes over 9,000 journals, patents, conferences, books, technical reports and dissertations related to chemistry, chemical engineering, materials science and the biomedical sciences. Relates to the print equivalent Chemical Abstracts.

Reaxys This link opens in a new window
Find property, reaction, synthesis, and bibliographic information for chemicals.
A web-based interface for three chemical information databases, Beilstein, Gmelin and the Patent Chemistry Database (PCD). Structure, reaction and citation searching are possible. Reaxys is a key resource for locating information on how to synthesis organic, inorganic and organometallic compounds. It is also a good source for critically evaluated data on on physical, chemical, spectral, bioactivity, or toxicological properties of chemical compounds.
Compendex This link opens in a new window
Access to this resource will be discontinued effective 12/31/23 due to library budget cuts. Please use Scopus as an alternative resource. Indexes journals, conferences, technical reports and other materials related to the engineering and technical literature. (Ei Compendex Plus) [1884 - present]
Encompasses civil, structural, and mechanical engineering disciplines, as well as related fields in science and management.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Molecular biology, biochemistry, and other biomedical fields.
Sources: Life science journals, MEDLINE, and online books.
Includes: Links to NCBI's integrated molecular biology databases including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system.
Note: Use the UCB-specific URL to see a customized version of PubMed that includes UC-eLinks.
For more information:
PubMed guide
Exporting citations
Saving searches and setting up e-mail alerts
Setting Preferences in My NCBI
PubMed includes MEDLINE, PubMed Central (PMC), other biomedical and life science journals, and the NCBI Bookshelf. PubMed also provides links to other NCBI molecular biology resources, including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system.
Note: The link above goes to a specially configured version of PubMed for UC Berkeley users that will display the Get It at UC button for full text article access. To use the free public version, please click here.

General science databases

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Covers science, technology, medicine, arts, humanities, and the social sciences. Cited references available from 1996 forward. A Journal Analyzer tool assesses journal performance.
Sources: Over 21,000 journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series. Includes all of the Medline database and millions of patents.
For more information:
Scopus Help
Contains over 50 million records with more than half the content originating from outside North America. Indexes over 21,000 journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences, technology, medicine, arts, and humanities.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Broad coverage of scientific fields, as well as the social sciences and the arts and humanities.
Sources: Journals, conference proceedings and book chapters. Cited reference searches find articles that cite a given author or reference..
For more information:
Creating search and citation alerts
Cited reference search
Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present).

Setting up search alerts for particular topics or authors:

Keeping Current

Find preprints

Preprints are unpublished scholarly manuscripts shared by researchers with scientific community prior to peer review and publication.

ChemRxiv
Find unpublished preprints and preliminary reports of findings in chemistry and related areas. ChemRxiv is co-owned and collaboratively managed by the American Chemical Society (ACS), Chinese Chemical Society (CCS), Chemical Society of Japan (CSJ), German Chemical Society (GDCh), and the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC).

arXiv (e-Print Archive) This link opens in a new window
Preprints for physics (including chemical physics), mathematics, nonlinear sciences, computer science and quantitative biology.
An e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, and statistics. (x archive - xxx.lanl.gov - Los Alamos ePrint Server)

Find the article from a citation

If you have a full or partial citation:

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Advanced search is best to find articles by title, journal, author, and date range.
Click on the toolbar icon in the top left corner to find the Advanced Search interface.
Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover any given field more completely). Can be used with "Get it at UC" to access the full text of many articles.

If you have an unknown journal abbreviation:

CASSI
Identify a full journal title from an abbreviation, or find the accepted abbreviation for a full journal title.
more...less...
Chemical Abstracts Service Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool allows searching on journal titles and abbreviations for publications indexed by CAS since 1907.
NLM Catalog: Journals
Find journals indexed in PubMed by entering an abbreviation or title, International Standard Serial Number (ISSN), or topic.

If you're looking for a journal by title:

UC Library Search: Journal Search
Search for journals by title or browse using the Journals by Category filters.
Keeping Current
Setting up journal table of contents and new issue alerts

If the UC Berkeley Library doesn't have access to an article you need:

Interlibrary Loan
UC Berkeley students, faculty, and staff (including retired faculty and staff) can borrow materials not available through the UC Berkeley Library by using the Interlibrary Loan button or the ILL request form in UC Library Search.
UC Library Search
Search for journals, books and more at all of the libraries in the University of California system, or worldwide.
Click the Request button to borrow from another library.
Rush Article Request Form
Request journal articles and conference papers that you need in a hurry but that are not available in the UC Berkeley Libraries (including NRLF).
UCB faculty, graduate students, post docs, and research staff in the College of Chemistry, the College of Engineering, and the Departments of Astronomy, Earth & Planetary Science, Geography, Mathematics, Physics, and Statistics are eligible.
Purchase recommendation form
Recommend a book, journal, or other resource for purchase by the library.

Secondary menu

Chemistry and Chemical Engineering: Articles

Find articles by topic, author, and other fields

Find preprints

Find the article from a citation