Skip to main content

Statistics and Data for City Planning: Home

Statistics and Data for City Planning is a bibliographic research guide to UC Berkeley library and Web resources for socioeconomic and demographic data and statistics relevant to city planning.

Gateways

Using Statistics

Statistical Abstracts

Statistical abstracts gather statistical tables from a variety of sources and (re)publish them together. The best statistical abstracts, such as those listed here, include the original source of each table. Note that the Doe Reference Center has statistical abstracts from many state governments.

Contact Information

Environmental Design Library's picture
Environmental Design Library
Contact:
210 Wurster Hall
University of California
Berkeley, CA 94720-6000
Website / Blog Page

Search Terms

Here is a selection of books on using and interpreting statistics and data in the social sciences. To find additional titles, try the following subject searches in the Library's catalogs:

Social sciences -- Research -- Methodology
Social sciences -- Statistical methods
Social sciences -- Statistics
Statistics -- Graphic methods

Campus Resources

Here are a few campus locations that have significant collections of statistics, or numeric or spatial data.

Numeric & Spatial Data Sources

Here is a selection of numeric data collections for the social sciences.

Search the catalog for numeric and spatial data

To find additional data sets, try the following search strategies in the Library's catalog, OskiCat. Neither search strategy is perfect; we're working on it! NOTE: Neither of these strategies will work in the Melvyl catalog.

Strategy 1: Search results include ICPSR and other new numeric data sets.

  • Choose Advanced Search
  • Select Genre/Physical Charac (exact) from the drop-down menu of search types
  • Type data set in the search for box
  • To narrow your search results by topic, type subject terms in the second search for box, & select subject keywords from the drop-down menu of search types.

Strategy 2: Search results are limited to CD-ROMs in Doe Reference, where most of the social sciences data collections are held.

  • Choose Advanced Search
  • Limit your search by location: DREF
  • Limit your search by publication format: Computer Files
  • To narrow your search results by topic, type subject terms in the second search for box, & select subject keywords from the drop-down menu of search types.
Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.