Skip to main content
Data in these sources are reported primarily by country.
(U.S. Library of Congress) The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world and examines the interrelationships of those systems and the ways they are shaped by cultural factors. Earlier paper editions are listed in the catalog as Area Handbook for...
OECD statistics portal
(Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development)
Statistical agencies (International)
(U.S. Bureau of the Census) Very useful site, providing links to the web sites of 100+ national statistical agencies, organized alphabetically by country.
- National censuses. National censuses are published in paper (primarily shelved in Doe Library) and on the web. To locate paper censuses, search the OskiCat catalog by subject: [name of country] -- Census; you may limit your search by date of publication. To locate censuses on the web, visit the web site of the national statistical agency of the country in question.
ELDIS country profiles
(Institute of Development Studies, Sussex) Excellent site. Includes sectoral profiles and links to other descriptive and statistical profiles, by country.
World resources, a guide to the global environment
NY: Oxford Univ. Press; biennial. Each volume of this series focuses on an aspect of the global environment and trends in the world's natural resource base.
Development data & statistics
(World Bank Group) Full text socioeconomic and development data, by country and topic, as well as many other data sources.
Documents & reports
(World Bank) A search engine to over 27,000 full text World Bank publications. Includes some city-specific information.
Regional Data Sources: International
These sources are organized by region, and provide individual country as well aggregated data.
- African development indicators. NY: UN Development Programme. 1992-- .
- ASEAN statistical yearbook. Jakarta: ASEAN Secretariat.
- International historical statistics: Africa, Asia & Oceania, 1750-1993, by B.R. Mitchell. 3rd ed. NY: Stockton Press, 1998.
- International historical statistics: Europe, 1750-1993, by B.R. Mitchell. 4th ed. NY: Stockton Press, 1998.
- International historical statistics: the Americas, 1750-1993, by B.R. Mitchell. 4th ed. NY: Stockton Press, 1998.
See these links for more information.
City Data Sources: International
Note that local data is sometimes also available on official city web sites and in national census reports.
- Cities: statistical, administrative and graphical information on the major urban areas of the world. Barcelona: Institut d'Estudis Metropolitans de Barcelona, 1988. 5 vols.
- Compendium of human settlements statistics. NY: United Nations. Includes data for selected cities.
- Encyclopedia of world cities, by Immanuel Ness. 2 vols. Armonk, NY: M.E. Sharpe, 1999. Includes articles on 132 leading cities. Each article contains a map and statistical table. Statistical categories include: location & environment; population & demography; economy; transportation; comunications; housing; health; and education.
- Four thousand years of urban growth, an historical census, by Tertius Chandler. Lewiston: St. David's Univ. Press, 1987.
- The State of the world's cities. Nairobi, Kenya : UNCHS (Habitat). Each biennial volume has a theme, and includes both narrative and statistical analyses.
Global urban observatory databases
(UN HABITAT) Includes information on urban population, economics, environment, infrastructure, urban settlement, housing, and local authorities. Includes links to the Global Urban Indicators Database, theHuman Settlements Statistics Database, and others.