Skip to main content

City and Regional Planning: Basic Research Resources: General Research

A selective bibliographic guide to basic city and regional planning reference sources in the Environmental Design Library at UC Berkeley. Although the guide reflects the American emphasis of the collection, international planning is included.

Research Guides

Here is a selection of topical research guides to UC Berkeley library and web resources for planning research. For additional topics please the complete list of guides.

Print Guides

  • The Citizen's guide to planning, by Christopher J. Duerksen, C. Gregory Dale, and Donald L. Elliott. 4th ed. Chicago: American Planning Association, 2009. Good straight forward introduction to city planning.
  • Doing urban research, by Gregory D. Andranovich, Gerry Riposa. Sage Publications, 1993. Focuses on some of the theoretical and practical knowledge needed to conduct research about cities. Includes research design and data collection.
  • Information sources in urban and regional planning: a directory and guide to reference materials, by Edward E. Duensing. Center for Urban Policy Research, 1994. An annotated guide to the planning literature. Lists planning organizations, organized by discipline. Covers titles published since 1979.
  • Social science reference sources: a practical guide, by Tze-chung Li. 3rd ed. Greenwood Pr., 2000. Approximately one third of the volume covers social sciences in general. The rest of the volume is devoted to the social science subdisciplines, including geography, economics, and sociology. Contains approximately 1,600 entries. 

Contact Information

Environmental Design Library's picture
Environmental Design Library
Contact:
210 Wurster Hall
University of California
Berkeley, CA 94720-6000
Website / Blog Page

Bibliographies

  • Architecture series: bibliography
  • The Built environment: a subject index 1800-1960
  • City planning bibliography: a basic bibliography of sources and trends
  • Council of Planning Librarians exchange bibliographies.
  • CPL bibliographies.
  • History of urban and regional planning: an annotated bibliography
  • Public administration series: bibliography.
  • The Social sciences: a cross-disciplinary guide to selected sources
  • Urban America examined: a bibliography
  • Urban planning, a guide to information sources
Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.