Skip to main content

Comparative Ethnic Studies: Finding Books

Finding Books

There is a rich literature on Comparative Ethnic Studies spanning many disciplines. See below for information on how to access books at UC Berkeley, across the UC campuses, and make requests from the Northern Regional Library Facility, a storage repository which holds books from UC campuses in Northern California. 

Finding Books @ UC Berkeley and Beyond

UC Berkeley Libraries "Start Your Search" Search Portal

Provides a comprehensive search of UC Berkeley Libraries' print and online collections. From the "Start Your Search" box, you can browse Oskicat, Melvyl, and Course Reserves. 

Library Catalogs

To find books, DVDs, maps, sound recordings, manuscripts, and much more (everything except articles) use a library catalog.

OskiCat = most UC Berkeley libraries

MELVYL = all UC campus libraries, including all UC Berkeley libraries

Worldcat = all libraries in the world, including public and academic libraries

For each item make sure you know the name of the physical library, call number, and whether or not it's checked out, library use only, etc.

Call numbers are on the spine of the book; learn how to read them so you can find what you need on the shelves.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

ILL is a free service available to all students, faculty, and staff, that allows you to borrow materials not owned by UC Berkeley or otherwise unavailable from our collection. ILL can also obtain copies of articles, book chapters, or other documents not available at UC Berkeley. 

SMS and QR Codes in OskiCat

You can now text yourself a call number or use a QR code reader to find the location of an item in the UCB Library. Just click on a title in your OskiCat search results, and both options will be displayed on the right.

SMS and QR image

ebrary = ebooks

ebrary is our largest collection of full text ebooks, with 40,000 titles on a wide range of subjects. Find them in the UCB catalog, OskiCat (keyword: ebrary or limit to "Available Online"), or search the ebrary site directly:

Search ebrary

 

Getting started with ebrary

Getting Material from NRLF

A large part of the library's collection is stored in a secure building called the Northern Regional Library Facility (NRLF). Affiliated patrons may request physical copies or electronic scans of materials that are stored in this off-site location.

Physical Copies

To request a physical copy of an item kept in the NRLF, press the  Request Button  button on the screen after the initial search in the OskiCat web catalog (see picture below). The screen after will ask you to enter account information using either your Library/Cal 1 Card number or CalNet logins.

OskiCat Catalog Request from NRLF

After logging in to your library account, you have the option to designate a volume number (if applicable) and a cancel date.

Electronic Copies or Scans

To request an electronic copies or scans of eligible library materials stored in the NRLF, you must click on the title itself and exit the search results screen. Once on the item information screen, press the Request an electronic copy from NRLF button as shown in the image below, and login to your account. 

Electronic Copy from NRLF

Below is an image of the screen after your credentials have been entered. Here you can specify the exact volumes, chapters, and pages of the library item needed.

Information needed for Requesting Electronic Copies

Google Books

Google Books contains millions of scanned books, from libraries and publishers worldwide. You can search the entire text of the books, view previews or "snippets" from books that are still in copyright, and read the full text of out-of-copyright (pre-1923) books.  Want to read the entire text of an in-copyright book?  Use Google Books' Find in a Library link to locate the book in a UC Berkeley library, or search OskiCat to see if UC Berkeley owns the book.

Why use Google Books?

Library catalogs (like OskiCat) don't search inside books; using a library catalog, you can search only information about the book (title, author, Library of Congress subject headings, etc.).  Google Books will let you search inside books, which can be very useful for hard-to-find information.  Try it now:

Google Book Search

New Books in Comparative Ethnic Studies

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.