Skip to main content

Comparative Ethnic Studies: Newspapers

Newspapers

Find historical newspapers online, on microfilm, and at libraries.

Newspaper Databases

Newspapers at the Ethnic Studies Library

Newspaper collections are available online through databases and physically available on microfilm or in their original format in the libraries. The Asian American Studies Collection at the Ethnic Studies Library contains historical and contemporary newspapers and serials from the Asian American community dating back to the nineteenth century. 

To search Oskicat for newspapers, enter keyword or title and select "Journals/Magazines/Newspapers" from the drop-down menu. 

Newspapers on Microfilm

What are microforms?
Before digital storage became easy and cheap, microfilm and microfiche were formats that libraries could use to maintain large collections of newspapers, government documents, and historical documents while saving physical storage space. Rolls of microfilm and flat microfiche cards each contains thousands of tiny images of the original documents. 

Access
You
 need to use a microfilm reader to view microfilm and microfiche. Microfilm readers allow you to read, print  and save pages to flash drives in .jpg and .pdf format. The Libraries have a number of microform readers available:

Finding articles
​Most newspapers do not have indexes.  How do you find articles by subject? By knowing the approximate date of the event you are studying.  If you don't know the date, you can use the index to a different newspaper as a way to find out.

Newspaper indexes you might want to use:

There are others.  Ask the Newspaper Microfilm staff for help.

Newspapers and Microforms Collection

If the library location in OskiCat says "Newspapers and Microforms" it is referring to the Newspapers and Microforms Collection, 40 Doe Library.

Check the hours of the unit before you go. The unit is not open on weekends, and microfilm cannot be checked out.

Be sure to bring a flash drive so you can save scanned copies of the microfilm to your disk. Scanning is free, but there is a charge for printing from the microfilm.  You must use your Cal1 card to pay for printing.

In the News/Micro collection, microfilm rolls and microfiche cards are shelved with their own numbering system; click here for a PDF of the collection's floorplan.

Don't hesitate to ask for help! The News/Micro staff are experts in the use of the machines.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.